China imposes sanctions on seven Taiwan ‘secessionist’ officials

China blacklists seven Taiwanese officials The action was taken in the name of supporting self-rule. China accused the group of trying to give independence to the island.
State news agency Xinhua quoted a spokesman for the ruling Communist Party’s Taiwan Work Office as saying that these officials would be banned from entering major Chinese cities, Hong Kong and Macau and restricted from working with Chinese officials. Taiwan’s representative to the United States, Bi-Khim Hsiao, was among the seven officials Beijing took action against.

Xinhua said the ‘punitive measures’ are necessary to protect the peaceful development of cross-strait relations and the urgent interests of people on both sides of the strait. The Communist Party’s Global Times tabloid described the officials as “radical separatists”.

Read Also: China to destroy Taiwan; Punishment with a fruit | China-Taiwan Conflict Explained

In response to the sanctions, Taiwan’s foreign ministry said the island is a democracy. China cannot intervene. Ministry spokesperson Joan Ou was quoted as saying in Taipei that we cannot accept threats from authoritarian and totalitarian systems any more than this. U. China has stepped up pressure on the island since U.S. Speaker Nancy Pelosi’s visit to Taiwan.

Story Highlights: China imposes sanctions on seven Taiwan ‘secessionist’ officials

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR ▶️ YOUTUBE CHANNEL ???? ANYTIME ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD, ???? TwentyFour News ???? Augmented Reality Packages & ????Explainers in detail ????

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.