Date, appointment, schedule, broadcast on TV and live stream

The Ironman World Championships will take place in Hawaii again next year. Date, date, schedule, broadcast on TV and live stream – we give you the most important information about the triathlon in Kailua-Kona in 2022.

Ironman in Hawaii 2022: date, date, schedule

As usual, the Ironman World Championships in Hawaii (Kailua-Kona) will take place in October 2022. There is one important change to note: the World Cup will take place on two days. The women start on October 6th, the men’s turn on October 8th.

But before that, the world championships, which could not take place on October 9, 2021 as originally planned due to the coronavirus pandemic, will be held. The competition before October will only start on May 7, 2022 and not in Kailua-Kona, but in St. George in the US state of Utah. This was announced by the Ironman Group, organizer of the world championships, in a press release. For the first time since 1978, the World Championships will not take place in Hawaii.

So there will be no Ironman World Cup in the calendar year 2021, after the event had already been postponed from October 2020 to February 2021, but it also fell into the water due to Corona. The fans will see two World Cups for this next year.

Ironman: The upcoming world championships in 2022

date competition location
7. May 2022 Ironman World Championship (originally planned for October 2021) St. George (Utah, USA)
October 6th or 8th, 2022 Ironman-WM (2022) Kailua-Kona (Hawaii, United States)

Ironman in Hawaii 2022: broadcast on TV and live stream

The Ironman in Hawaii is still a long way off, so nothing is currently known about the broadcast of the spectacle on TV and in the livestream. At the last Ironman World Championship they took care of them ARD and the ZDF about the transmission on free TV and in the free live stream.

It remains to be seen whether the two public broadcasters will also broadcast the World Championships in the coming year.

Ironman: The winners of the last five world championships


year First place Second place third place
2019 Jan Frodeno (GER) Timothy O’Donnell (USA) Sebastian Kienle (GER)
2018 Patrick Lange (GER) Bart Aernouts (BEL) David McNamee (GBR)
2017 Patrick Lange (GER) Lionel Sanders (CAN) David McNamee (GBR)
2016 Jan Frodeno (GER) Sebastian Kienle (GER) Patrick Lange (GER)
2015 Jan Frodeno (GER) Andreas Raelert (GER) Timothy O’Donnell (USA)


year First place Second place third place
2019 Anne Haug (GER) Lucy Charles-Barclay (GBR) Sarah Crowley (AUS)
2018 Daniela Ryf (SUI) Lucy Charles (GBR) Anne Haug (GER)
2017 Daniela Ryf (SUI) Lucy Charles (GBR) Sarah Crowley (AUS)
2016 Daniela Ryf (SUI) Mirinda Carfrae (AUS) Heather Jackson (USA)
2015 Daniela Ryf (SUI) Rachel Joyce (GBR) Liz Blatchford (GBR)


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.