De Ketelaere and Doku among 40 nominees for Golden Boy Award

Among the other nominees, we note the names of dilon Kossounou (Lverkusen, ex-Club Brugges), Jude Bellingham (Dortmund), Eduardo Camavinga (Real Madrid), Mason Greenwoord (Manchester United), Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal) and Pedri (FC Barcelona), the latter being the favorite.

The Golden Boy Award has been awarded since 2003. An international jury of football journalists chooses the final winner. Among the most prominent names on the honor list are Rafael Van der Vaart (2003), Wayne Rooney (2004), Lionel Messi (2005), Cesc Fabregas (2006), Sergio Aguëro (2007), Mario Balotelli (2010) , Paul Pogba (2013), Raheem Sterling (2014) and Kylian Mbappé (2017). Last year, the award went to Norway’s Dortmund striker Erling Haaland.

No Belgian has ever been able to win the Golden Boy Award. Eden Hazard (third in 2011), Thibaut Courtois (third in 2012), Romelu Lukaku (second in 2013) and Divock Origi (second in 2014) climbed on the podium.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.