IND vs NZ | Ajaz wins Perfect Ten; India on Mayank’s century; India out for 325 in first innings – News18 Malayalam

India were bowled out for 325 in the first innings of the second Test by New Zealand ‘Mumbai’ spinner Ajaz Patel. The Mumbai-born spinner also won the toss and elected to field. Ajax, who took 11 wickets for 119 runs in 47.5 overs, became only the third player in Test history to take 10 wickets in an innings.

Ajaz took 10 wickets while Mayank Agarwal led the Indian innings with 150 runs. Akshar Patel, who scored a half-century, also gave Mayank excellent support.

India, who started the first day at 221 for four, suffered a setback early on. Ajax, who took all four wickets on the first day, could be seen starting from where he left off the day before. Ajax took two wickets in a row in the first over to put India on the defensive. Ajaz caught Saha (27) in the LB and bowled Ashwin off the first ball. However, Akshar Patel, who later teamed up with Mayank Agarwal at the crease, batted well and India came back into the match.

When the game resumed after lunch, Mayank finished with 150 runs. But on the next ball, Mayank was caught by Tom Blundell and Ajaz gave New Zealand another breakthrough. Mayank left the crease with 150 off 311 balls with 17 fours and four sixes. With this, Ajax increased his wicket tally to seven.

After Mayank’s return, Akshar Patel took charge of the Indian innings, attacking, scoring and completing a half-century. But just after the half-century was over, Ajaz Patel’s ball bounced off the wicket. Later, Jayant Yadav (12) put up some resistance but the batsman returned with a wicket to Ajaz in an attempt to lift the run. Siraj was dismissed for 10 in the same over for nine wickets.

Also read- Ajaz Patel | Ajaz Patel makes history in Test cricket; 10 wickets in an innings; Successor to Jim Locker and Kumble

India responds to Ajaz through Siraj; Batting collapse for New Zealand

In reply, New Zealand collapsed. They lost six wickets for 38 runs, 287 runs behind India’s first innings score. For India, Siraj took three wickets while Ashwin, Akshar Patel and Jayant Yadav took one wicket each.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.