Kast and Boric are separated by just 2 points, marking the narrowest difference in 20 years


© Provided by La Tercera

Solo 2.08% separate José Antonio Kast (Christian Social Front) from Gabriel Boric (Approve Dignity), who in the elections yesterday, Sunday, November 21, led the preferences with 27.91% and 25.83%, respectively.

Thus, the former deputy and leader of Republicans goes to the second round with the parliamentarian for Magellan, with a slight advantage that, following the trend of previous elections, increases their chances of victory in the definition of December 19.

Kast and Boric prevail in the first round and the difference in votes is the narrowest since Lagos-Lavín

This is the narrower difference between the two candidates leading the ballot, since the return to democracy. Considering the last 30 years, the The smallest margin in the elections for the position of Head of State occurred in the 1999-2000 elections, when six candidates faced Ricardo Lagos (PPD) and Joaquín Lavín (UDI) at the helm.

In times when compulsory voting still ruled, in the first round there was a participation of 89.95%, which gave Ricardo Lagos a 47.95% of the preferences, versus Joaquín Lavín who obtained 47.51%. A difference of just 0.44 percentage points.

What happened in the second round? With a participation that increased to 90.63%, who led was Ricardo Lagos with 51.31% of the votes, while Lavín reached 48.99% of the preferences.

A close vote that has not been such, or similar, until now. Since in the suffrages that the Presidency gave to Michelle Bachelet and Sebastián Piñera, both in two non-consecutive periods, the distance was always greater than two percentage digits.

On 2005, Michelle Bachelet and Sebastián Piñera -in competition with Joaquín Lavín and Tomás Hirsh- led the preferences. While Bachelet obtained 45.96%, Piñera reached 2.41%, marking a loose difference of 20.55 points.

Hence, the triumph of the Concertación card with 53.5% was not a surprise, over the Alliance card, which had 46.5% in the second round.

On 2009 the margin narrowed slightly. With four candidates in the race, Sebastián Piñera (Coalition for Change) and Eduardo Frei Ruiz-Tagle (Concertación) led the majorities with 44.06% and 29.6% respectively, which translates into 16.46% distance.

Curiously, the second round was tighter, since although Piñera won with 51.61%, Frei came close with 48.39%.

For the 2013 elections, a familiar face in La Moneda aspired to return to the presidential chair. Michelle Bachelet (New Majority) and Evelyn Matthei (Alliance) were elected -among new candidates- in the first round with 46.7% versus 25.03%, that is, there was a 21.67% among them.

A figure that increased in the definition in second instance, where Bachelet got 62.17% of the votes, and Matthei 37.83%.

Finally, in 2017 again there was a candidate for a second term presidential who would be elected. Sebastian Piñera faced seven other applicants from La Moneda, among them, Alejandro Guillier. While Piñera obtained 36.64% of the votes, Guillier obtained 22.7%, thus generating a difference of 13.94%.

Once again, a result was reached in which the first round preference leader was repeated: Piñera was elected President of Chile for the 2018-2022 period, with 54.58% of the votes in competition with Guillier’s 45.42%.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.