Money laundering: four new countries, including Morocco, placed under surveillance


Morocco, Senegal, Burkina Faso and the Cayman Islands were placed under surveillance by the Financial Action Task Force (Gafi) on Thursday for their failings in the fight against money laundering and terrorist financing.

At the end of a plenary meeting, this intergovernmental body added these four countries to the “gray list” of countries with “strategic deficiencies”, but which have undertaken to implement action plans in deadlines set to improve their situation.

Since its previous plenary meeting in October, the Gafi has identified progress made by most of the other countries on this gray list, namely Albania, Burma, Botswana, Cambodia, Ghana, Mauritius, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Panama, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

Two other countries on the gray list, Barbados and Jamaica, have not provided the Gafi with new information since October due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Finally, Iran and North Korea remain on the blacklist of non-cooperative countries in matters of money laundering, terrorist financing and the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.