MotoGP Silverstone: Aprilia-Sensation, Marquez-Crash / MotoGP

Fabio Quartararo won the MotoGP race at Silverstone in a sovereign manner and extended his championship lead. Aleix Espargaró (3rd) caused cheers for Aprilia, Valentino Rossi was passed through to 18th place.

Repsol Honda works rider Pol Espargaró had surprisingly secured pole position in England after Jorge Martin (Pramac Ducati) was denied his fastest lap because he had exceeded the track barrier – starting position 4 for the Spaniard.

Amazing: Pol Espargaró only qualified for the third time in his MotoGP career for the first time, the first time since he rode a Honda. Before that, he did that twice on KTM in 2020. Honda had to wait 14 races for a pole, and since the Teruel GP 2020 (Takaaki Nakagami) no driver on an RC213V has made it. There hasn’t been such a long unsuccessful time for Honda since 1982!

Since switching to four-stroke machines in the MotoGP World Championship in 2002, Aprilia has never achieved a top five result. Aleix Espargaró provided the redemption in Silverstone and even brought the RS-GP to the podium! Only winners Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha) and Alex Rins (Suzuki Ecstar) were faster. With his fifth win of the season, Quartararo has extended its lead in the world championship to a reassuring 65 points over defending champion Joan Mir (Suzuki) in second place.

With Yamaha, Suzuki, Aprilia, Ducati, Honda and KTM, all six manufacturers made it into the top 6!

For Marc Márquez, the race was over on the first lap, the Spaniard crashed and cleared his compatriot Jorge Martin (Pramac Ducati).

See Also:  Thai girl steel shaft is ready to compete for the Honda LPGA this week.

Yamaha star Valentino Rossi started in the top 8, but was passed through with decreasing rear tires – up to 18th place.

Brad Binder put the best KTM RC16 in sixth place.

This is how the race went:

Start: Pole setter Pol Espargaro gets away well and turns into the first corner as the leader, World Championship leader Fabio Quartararo is second, Aleix Espargaro catapults himself from sixth to third place.

1st round: Marc Marquez slips and clears Jorge Martin with him! Pol Espargaro leads in front of brother Aleix, Pecco Bagnaia, Quartararo, Jack Miller, Valentino Rossi, world champion Joan Mir, Alex Rins, Nakagami and Joan Zarco in the top 10.

3rd round: Aleix Espargaro passes Pol for a few meters, Quartararo is third, followed by Bagnaia, Miller, Mir, Rins and Rossi in 8th place.

4th lap: Quartararo overtakes Aleix and is second, Bagnaia also briefly passes the Spaniard, but he can counter.

5th round: Quartararo takes the lead from Pol Espargaro, followed by Aleix, Bagnaia, Mir, Miller and Rins. Rossi in eighth cannot follow the leading group.

Round 6: Aleix passes Pol Espargaro and is second. Quartararo at the front has already pulled out a second.

Round 8: Rins takes third place from Pol Espargaro, Rossi loses one place to Alex Marquez and is ninth. Brad Binder is only 11th as the best KTM rider.

Round 9: Quartararo is 2.4 seconds ahead of second Aleix Espargaro, followed by Rins, Pol Espargaro, Mir, Bagnaia, Miller, Alex Marquez, Rossi, Nakagami, Binder, Zarco, Lecuona, Petrucci and Bastianini in the top 15 .

See Also:  the beautiful (and long) way to the title for Fabio Quartararo

Round 10: Rossi in ninth place receives a visit from Nakagami, Binder and Zarco. Rins catches up with Aleix Espargaro, it’s about second place.

Round 12: Rins is past Aleix and thus second, Quartararo is ready 3.3 seconds away.

14th round: Rossi has dropped back to 14th place.

15th lap: Quartararo 3.6 seconds ahead of Rins, Aleix, Miller and Pol Espargaro. Of these four, everyone can still go on the podium.

17th lap: Pol Espargaro can no longer follow Rins, Aleix and Miller. Rossi fell back to 16th place with a lack of grip.

19th round: Quartararo 3.5 seconds ahead of Rins, Aleix Espargaro and Miller. Behind it there is a gap of 2.6 seconds to Pol Espargaro, Binder, Alex Marquez, Lecuona and Mir.

Last lap: Miller and Aleix Espargaro fight for third place, the Spaniard brings the podium to the finish, the first for Aprilia in the MotoGP era since 2002. Quartararo wins ahead of Rins.

Results MotoGP Silverstone / GB:

1. Fabio Quartararo, Yamaha, 20 laps in 40: 20.579 min
2. Alex Rins, Suzuki, +2,663 sec
3. Aleix Espargaró, Aprilia, +4,105
4. Jack Miller, Ducati, +4,254
5. Pol Espargaró, Honda, +8,462
6. Brad Binder, KTM, +12,189
7. Iker Lecuona, KTM, +13,560
8. Alex Marquez, Honda, +14,044
9. Joan Mir, Suzuki, +16,226
10. Danilo Petrucci, KTM, +16.287
11. Johann Zarco, Ducati, +16,339
12. Enea Bastianini, Ducati, +17,696
13. Takaaki Nakagami, Honda, +18,285
14. Pecco Bagnaia, Ducati, +20.913
15. Luca Marini, Ducati, +21.018
16. Miguel Oliveira, KTM, +22.022
17. Cal Crutchlow, Yamaha, +23,232
18. Valentino Rossi, Yamaha, +29.758
19. Jake Dixo, Yamaha, +50,845
– Jorge Martin, Ducati, 19 laps back
– Marc Márquez, Honda, 1st lap not finished

See Also:  Result of Boca - Patronage for the Argentine Cup | SPORT-TOTAL

Status of the drivers’ championship after 12 of 18 races:

1. Quartararo, 206 Points. 2. Mir 141. 3. Zarco 137. 4. Bagnaia 136. 5. Miller 118. 6. Binder 108. 7. Viñales 95. 8. Oliveira 85. 9. Aleix Espargaró 83. 10. Martin 64. 11. Rins 64 12. Marc Márquez 59. 13. Nakagami 58. 14. Pol Espargaró 52. 15. Alex Márquez 50. 16. Morbidelli 40. 17. Petrucci 36. 18. Bastianini 35. 19. Lecuona 33. 20. Marini 28. 21 .Rossi 28. 22. Bradl 11. 23. Pedrosa 6. 24. Savadori 4. 25. Pirro 3. 26. Rabat 1.

Constructors’ championship:

1. Yamaha 234. 2. Ducati 225 Punkte. 3. KTM 162. 4. Suzuki 158. 5. Honda 115. 6. Aprilia 84.


1. Monster Energy Yamaha, 301 Punkte. 2. Ducati Lenovo 254. 3. Pramac Racing 205. 4. Suzuki Ecstar 205. 5. Red Bull KTM Factory Racing 193. 6. Repsol Honda 118. 7. LCR Honda 107. 8. Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 87. 9. Tech3 KTM Factory Racing 69. 10 Petronas Yamaha SRT 68. 11. Esponsorama Racing Ducati 63.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.