New entry rules: More than 20 countries are high risk areas

Due to the very high number of infections, stricter entry rules will apply to more than 20 countries from Sunday. This also includes holiday destinations such as Portugal, Spain, Egypt and the USA.

Due to the particularly high number of corona infections, the federal government will for the first time classify more than 20 countries as high-risk areas, for which slightly stricter entry rules will then apply. As the Robert Koch Institute announced on its website, this includes the neighboring country of the Czech Republic, the holiday countries Portugal, Spain and Egypt as well as the USA.

So far, the federal government had only differentiated between areas with particularly contagious virus variants and “normal” risk areas. There are now three categories:

“Normal” risk areas: These are countries or regions with an incidence value of 50 new infections per 100,000 inhabitants in the past seven days. This currently applies to almost all of Europe with the exception of individual areas in Greece, Finland, Norway, Austria and Denmark. Well over 100 countries worldwide are risk areas.

High incidence areas: These are countries with significantly higher numbers of infections than in Germany. As a rule, this includes countries with an incidence value of over 200 (incidence in Germany: 115). However, other countries can also be declared “high incidence areas” under this brand under certain conditions.

As of Sunday, in addition to the countries already mentioned, the following are considered to be particularly high-risk countries: Albania, Andorra, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Estonia, Iran, Israel and the Palestinian territories, Colombia, Kosovo, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Mexico, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Panama, Portugal, Serbia, Slovenia and the United Arab Emirates.

Virus Variants-Area: These are areas in which highly contagious variants of the coronavirus have appeared. So far the UK, Ireland, South Africa and Brazil fall into this category.

See Also:  EU wants to impose a new digital order

New: test before entry

Travelers from “normal” risk areas must be tested for Corona no later than 48 hours after entering Germany. They also have to be in quarantine for ten days, but can be freed from it prematurely by a second negative test from the fifth day.

The difference between the high-incidence and virus variant areas: The test must be carried out a maximum of 48 hours before entry. In addition, the exception rules for the quarantine can be restricted. But that is a matter for the individual federal states.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.