Technology Nobel Prize for Medicine Awarded for Cell Oxygenation Research

Nobel Prize for Medicine Awarded for Cell Oxygenation Research


The Academy has welcomed discoveries that open "the way to promising new strategies to fight anemia, cancer and many other diseases".

The Nobel Prize for Medicine was awarded jointly on Monday to Americans William Kaelin and Gregg Semenza and Britain's Peter Ratcliffe for their research on adapting cells to variable oxygen intake, which opens up prospects for the treatment of cancer. anemia.

"The fundamental importance of oxygen has been known for centuries, but the process of adapting cells to changes in oxygen levels has long remained a mystery," said the Nobel Assembly of the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm. in his expected.

"This year's Nobel Prize rewards work that has revealed the molecular mechanisms involved in adapting cells to the variable oxygen supply" in the body, she said.

Develop medicines

These mechanisms are also involved in tumors, the growth of which depends on the oxygen supply of the blood, especially certain fast-growing cancers such as liver which consume so much energy that they burn all the available oxygen around the body. 'them.

"Intense efforts underway in academic laboratories and pharmaceutical companies are now focusing on the development of drugs that can interfere with different stages of a disease either by activating or blocking the mechanism of oxygen uptake", according to the Nobel Jury.

Kaelin works at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute in the United States, Semenza directs the Vascular Research Program at the John Hopkins Institute of Cell Engineering Research. Ratcliffe is the Director of Clinical Research at the Francis Crick Institute in London and the Target Discovery Institute in Oxford.

The winners will receive on December 10 a gold medal, a diploma and a check of 9 million Swedish kronor (about 830,000 euros) that they will share.

Most Recommended Web hosting

World News :

Nobel Peace Prize awarded Friday

In 2018, the award went to James P. Allison of the United States and Tasuku Honjo of Japan for their research on immunotherapy, which proved particularly effective in the treatment of virulent cancers.

The last French honored in this discipline are Françoise Barré-Sinoussi and Luc Montagnier, in 2008, for having identified in 1983 the AIDS virus.

After medicine, will follow physics on Tuesday, chemistry Wednesday and literature on Thursday. The prestigious Nobel Peace Prize will be awarded Friday in Oslo. The economy prize, created in 1968 on the occasion of the centenary of the Bank of Sweden, will close the season on Monday 14 October.

The Nobel were awarded for the first time in 1901, after the wealthy Swedish industrialist Alfred Nobel, inventor of dynamite, bequeathed his fortune to the creation of these awards.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest news

Six tips to prevent carbon monoxide poisoning

With the cold, the boilers are running at full speed, the fireplaces resume service and the poorest sometimes heat...

Break analysis of the Bavarian DEL clubs – A stabbed tiger and other strange things – Sport

Straubing unexpectedly switched to the direct playoff qualification, Nuremberg hopes that the bad luck has been used up, Munich...

The 'brexit' entangles the inauguration of the new European Commission

The objective of the elected president of the European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen, it is still taking...

Must read

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you