Races in Bristol, Atlanta, Martinsville, Homestead and Talladega add to NASCAR series schedule

Thursday May 14, 2020 by Philippe Brasseur

NASCAR today released the second list of events, following the next 10-day events at Darlington and Charlotte, which will make up the events from late May through the third weekend in June.

Five NASCAR Cup and Xfinity events, in addition to two NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck races have been confirmed. All of these rescheduled events will take place behind closed doors, with restrictions related to the coronavirus pandemic remaining in place.

On the Cup side, an evening race under the reflectors of Martinsville Speedway on Wednesday June 10 is one of the highlights announced by NASCAR officials. We note that this event will be the only one during the week, all the other races having a weekend schedule.

There will also be events at Bristol, Atlanta Motor Speedway, Homestead-Miami and Talladega. We are therefore talking about tracks that have had their races postponed earlier in the season and are within reasonable driving distance of Charlotte, North Carolina, where most of the NASCAR teams are based.

The complete list of rescheduled races is therefore:

Saturday May 30: Bristol, Xfinity Series, 160 mile distance (3:30 p.m.)
Sunday May 31: Bristol, Cup Series, 266 miles (3:30 p.m.)
Saturday June 6: Atlanta, Truck series, 200 miles FS1 (1:00 p.m.)
Saturday June 6: Atlanta, Xfinity Series, 251 miles (4:30 p.m.)
Sunday June 7: Atlanta, Cup Series, 500 miles (3:00 p.m.)
Wednesday June 10: Martinsville, Cup series, 263 miles (7:00 p.m.)
Saturday June 13: Homestead, Truck series, 201 miles (12:30 p.m.)
Saturday June 13: Homestead, Xfinity series, 250 miles (3:30 p.m.)
Sunday June 14: Homestead, Xfinity series, 250 miles (12:00 p.m.)
Sunday June 14: Homestead, Cup Series, 400 miles (3:30 p.m.)
Saturday June 20: Talladega, ARCA series, 202 millles (2:00 p.m.)
Saturday June 20: Talladega, Xfinity series, 300 miles (5:30 p.m.)
Sunday June 21: Talladega, Cup series, 500 miles (3:00 p.m.)

See Also:  SUV: should cars be taxed by weight?

“As we prepare for our return to the track at Darlington Raceway this Sunday with a Cup round, the industry has been diligent in crafting the return to racing schedule,” said Steve O’Donnell, vice -Executive Chairman and Director of Racing Development for NASCAR. “We look forward to expanding our schedule while continuing to work closely with local governments in each of the states we will visit,” he also said.

NASCAR has also announced the postponement of events scheduled at Kansas Speedway (May 30-31); at Michigan International Speedway (June 5-7), as well as the Xfinity Series races in Mid-Ohio (May 30) and Truck races at Texas Motor Speedway (June 5). This event was initially to take place in a joint weekend with the IndyCar series.

Also note that all NASCAR events scheduled at Iowa Speedway this season are canceled. The NASCAR Xfinity race on this track, which was scheduled for June 13, was reassigned to Homestead-Miami on Sunday June 14.

Besides the fact that these events will be presented until June 21 without spectators, for the pilots it will also be without free practice or qualification! A lottery system will be put in place to determine the starting order. Thus, positions 1 to 12 will be determined by a draw between the first 12 teams classified in the championship to date. A second draw takes place for positions 13 to 24, then a third for positions 25 to 36. Positions 37 to 40 will be filled on the grid by teams that have not scored any points or according to their order in the owners’ classification. .

See Also:  This is the Process of Salary Employees Under IDR 5 Million Get BLT

In view of the Cup race at Darlington this Sunday, the draw made on Thursday gave the starting grid. Brad Keselowski (photo above) is the lucky one who will start from pole position! The complete grid is:

1) Brad Keselowski (Team Penske)
2) Alex Bowman (Hendrick Motorsports)
3) Matt DiBenedetto (Wood Brothers Racing)
4) Kyle Busch (Joe Gibbs Racing)
5) Aric Almirola (Stewart-Haas Racing)
6) Kevin Harvick (Stewart-Haas Racing)
7) Ryan Blaney (Team Penske)
8) Jimmie Johnson (Hendrick Motorsports)
9) Joey Logano (Team Penske)
10) Denny Hamlin (Joe Gibbs Racing)
11) Chase Elliott (Hendrick Motorsports)
12) Matt Kenseth (Chip Ganassi Racing)
13) Clint Bowyer (Stewart-Haas Racing)
14) Cole Custer (Stewart-Haas Racing)
15) Martin Truex Jr. (Joe Gibbs Racing)
16) Austin Dillon (Richard Childress Racing)
17) Bubba Wallace (Richard Petty Motorsports)
18) William Byron (Hendrick Motorsports)
19) Corey LaJoie (Go Fas Racing)
20) Erik Jones (Joe Gibbs Racing)
21) Ryan Newman (Roush Fenway Racing)
22) Kurt Busch (Chip Ganassi Racing)
23) Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (JTG Daugherty Racing)
24) Chris Buescher (Roush Fenway Racing)
25) Ryan Preece (JTG Daugherty Racing)
26) Garrett Smithley (Rick Ware Racing)
27) Quin Houff (Starcom Racing)
28) Christopher Bell (Leavine Family Racing)
29) Tyler Reddick (Richard Childress Racing)
30) JJ Yeley (Rick Ware Racing)
31) Michael McDowell (Front Row Motorsports)
32) Joey Gase (Petty Ware Racing)
33) Ty Dillon (Germain Racing)
34) John Hunter Nemechek (Front Row Motorsports)
35) Brennan Poole (Premium Motorsports)
36) Reed Sorenson (Spire Motorsports)
37) Daniel Suarez (Gaunt Brothers Racing)
38) Timmy Hill (MBM Motorsports)
39) BJ McLeod (BJ McLeod Motorsports)
40) Josh Bilicki (Tommy Baldwin Racing)

See Also:  Simulated judgment, real experience

Quebec drivers Alex Labbé (Xfinity series) and Raphaël Lessard (Truck) will compete in these events. In Labbé’s case, only the next two Xfinity races are guaranteed at the budget level and he will find the wheel of one of the Chevrolet Camaros from Mario Gosselin’s team.

As for Raphaël Lessard, he competes for the entire season in the pickup truck series, driving a Toyota Tundra from Kyle Busch Motorsports.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.