South Korea confirmed 5 cases of Omi Kiron strain infection, entry policy tightened-Shangbao Indonesia

December 02, 2021 20:16 PM


South Korea confirms 5 cases of Omi Keron strain infection

[China News Service, Seoul]The South Korean epidemic prevention department stated on the evening of December 1st local time that according to the results of sequencing the genes of the suspected infection of the new crown variant “Omi Keron” reported in the country, 5 cases were finally confirmed Infect the Omi Keron mutant.
The above five cases specifically include a couple in their 40s who were recently diagnosed with the new crown after entering the country from Nigeria, a friend (male in their 30s) who was in close contact with them, and two other overseas immigrants. The couple’s son and another overseas entry case are also listed as suspected cases. The genetic sequencing results of the two cases will be released within this week.
It is worth noting that the wife, mother-in-law, and another friend of the above-mentioned 30-year-old male who was infected with Omi Keron were also diagnosed with the new crown on November 30. The genetic sequence analysis is currently underway, so South Korea was infected with Omiq. The number of Rong virus cases is likely to continue to increase.
The South Korean Central Anti-epidemic Countermeasures Headquarters decided at the meeting of the overseas case import situation assessment department that from the 3rd to the 16th of the month, all people entering South Korea, regardless of their nationality and whether they have completed the full-course vaccinations against the new crown, must undergo a 10-day quarantine. Prevent another new variant of the new crown “Omi Keron” from flowing into South Korea.
In addition, the South Korean government will list Nigeria as a key epidemic prevention country and a high-risk country from 0:00 local time on December 3, and exclude it from the list of countries exempted from quarantine.
Previously, South Korea had banned entry of foreigners from 8 countries including South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique, and Malawi on the 28th of last month, and Koreans departing from these 8 countries. Regardless of whether they are vaccinated, they must undergo a 10-day quarantine in a temporary living facility.


Leave a Comment