Swiss Music Awards – Loco Escrito and Arma Jackson rewarded

Loco Escrito and Beatrice Egli are the big winners of the Swiss Music Awards (SMA) 2021. They were crowned best musicians on Friday evening at the Hallenstadion. For French-speaking Switzerland, Arma Jackson wins.

Already rewarded in 2019, the Zurich native of Colombian origin Loco Escrito is rewarded again in 2021. A former rapper converted to Latino sounds, he is a real phenomenon throughout Switzerland.


The Lausanne hip-hop musician receives the Swiss Music Award in the “Best Act Romandie” category. At the age of 26, he has established himself on the French-speaking scene through his pop-funk universe tinged with urban sounds.

A “best talent” francophone

French-speaking Biennoise Caroline Alves is crowned the best young Swiss talent. The award for best Swiss musician goes to “Schlager” singer Beatrice Egli. La Schwyzoise won this title for the third time after 2015 and 2017.

On the male side, it is the Zurich native of Colombian origin Loco Escrito who receives the title of “Best Act” of these 14th SMA. The former rapper converted to Latin music is a real phenomenon of Swiss pop. The singer also receives the award for best “hit” for the third consecutive year. He is awarded for his title “Amame”.

Gotthard for the 3rd time

In the category of the best Swiss group, Gotthard won the prize for the third time. The title of the best album goes to the male choir of popular song Heimweh for “Zämehäbe” (“Sticking together”), marked by the crisis linked to the coronavirus. The award for best artist goes to the Bernese singer Trummer

The Grison rock group Megawatt is crowned “Best breaking act”, the award for the best breakthrough on the Swiss music scene.

Patent Ochsner and The Weeknd too

The Swiss Music Awards 2021 also honored the very popular Bernese group Patent Ochsner. The latter receives an honorary award for his entire career.

Internationally, the SMA for best musician and best hit (“Blinding Lights”) go to The Weeknd. AC / DC receives the best group award. The best breakthrough goes to Ava Max.

The ceremony was held at the Hallenstadion in Zurich, without a spectator, coronavirus requires.


Posted today at 12:05 am

See Also:  Piranha bites Joey Kelly's best piece

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.