The 18 European countries that apply quarantine or advise against travel from Spain | Economy

The World Health Organization (WHO) in March placed Europe as the epicenter of the coronavirus pandemic at its most dramatic peak. The continent added more cases and deaths, even, than China at its worst. Now, in the middle of the summer season, European governments have allowed travelers to enter and leave the borders freely, which could worsen the epidemiological situation in many territories that had managed to flatten the contagion curve. As the WHO confirms, positive outbreaks can become community transmission. To prevent this, Member States take action and shield themselves against the virus.


It establishes common rules to those of other countries such as maintaining social distance and the mandatory use of a mask in public transport. It is compulsory to present a negative result of a PCR test only to travel to Azores and Madeira.


In addition to the obligation to wear a mask in closed spaces and maintain interpersonal distance, France has imposed mandatory quarantines on travelers arriving from the United Kingdom and for those arriving from outside the European Union, except Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan , Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay. On the other hand, the French Government advises against traveling to Aragon and Catalonia, although it does not force or require quarantine. The official website mentions Lugo that, although it does not issue a recommendation, it does confirm the confinement of A Mariña.


For EU citizens, the country imposes restrictions on those arriving from “red zones”, high risk for the authorities. For now, it has imposed mandatory quarantine on travelers from areas of Spain (Aragon, Navarra, Barcelona and Lleida), Bulgaria, Croatia, France, Romania, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. The list of countries for which the Belgian government recommends quarantines and tests is even longer. Includes some areas of Austria, Luxembourg, Malta, Holland, Portugal, Czech Republic, Poland, Slovenia and Sweden. For Spain, extend these recommendations to travelers arriving from Madrid, Girona, Tarragona, the Basque Country, La Rioja, Soria, Guadalajara, Castellón, Valencia, Murcia, Almería and the Balearic Islands.


Amsterdam obliges travelers returning from certain areas of Spain (Barcelona, ​​Segriá, Figueras and Girona), Portugal (Vale do Tejo, including Lisbon), Belgium (province of Antwerp) and the United Kingdom (Leicester), to pass quarantines 14 days upon arrival. Furthermore, the Dutch authorities recommend not traveling to Bulgaria, Romania and Switzerland.


The Robert Koch Institute requires tests to be carried out on travelers arriving from areas with a cumulative incidence of more than 50 cases per 100,000 inhabitants, considered “risk areas” by the German authorities. Within the European territory, these restrictions apply to travelers entering from Spain (Catalonia, Aragon and Navarre), Albania, Belgium (Antwerp), Bosnia, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Serbia, Turkey or Ukraine.


London extends the 14-day quarantine obligation to travelers from a long list of countries, including Spain, Luxembourg, Portugal, Germany, Andorra or Belgium.


The country imposes mandatory 10-day quarantines on travelers entering from an extensive list of States, which include Spain (with the exception of the Balearic and Canary Islands), Romania, Luxembourg or the US. The use of a mask is not mandatory in the country.


Travel to and from EU countries is allowed without restrictions, except for travelers arriving from Bulgaria and Romania, who will have to self-isolate for 14 days.

Czech Republic

The use of a mask is mandatory throughout the country. Travelers from areas with medium and high risk can only enter if they provide a certificate with a negative test result. The list, which is updated every week, includes areas in Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Portugal, Spain (Catalonia, Aragon, Navarra and the Basque Country), Switzerland and Sweden.


Budapest organizes the countries into three categories (red, yellow and green) depending on their epidemiological situation. In the red category, which involves the prohibition of entry to the country, are Albania, Kosovo, Montenegro or Ukraine, among others. For travelers arriving from destinations marked in yellow (such as Spain, Bulgaria, Norway or Romania) it is required to present negative results of two PCR tests or undergo a two-week quarantine. Travelers coming to Hungary from a green category country (most of the EU) can enter without restrictions.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.