This is the new system of Minor Leagues (MLB branches)

The Minor Leagues are not like before but the changes have already been made and were officially presented, a modification that will make baseball reach hundreds of communities in North America starting in 2021.

Major League Baseball announced the new plan for affiliated baseball, with 120 Minor League teams joining the new Professional Development League (PDL). In total, the system includes 179 teams in 17 leagues, spanning 43 states in the US and four provinces in Canada.

Included in this new lineup are the Arizona Fall League and the Gulf Coast League, there will be 209 clubs in 19 leagues, making an appearance in a total of 44 states in the US and four Canadian provinces.

The different leagues will be:

  • American Association
  • Atlantic League
  • Frontier League
  • Pioneer League

“We are excited to reveal this new model, which not only provides a path to the Majors, but also continues Minor League tradition of entertaining millions of families in hundreds of communities,” said Commissioner Robert D. Manfred Jr. “By modernizing our Minor League system, we are prioritizing the qualities that make Minor League such an integral part of our game while strengthening how we develop the athletes within and off the ground. We already want to showcase the best of our game in local communities, supporting those who work hard to promote the sport and share unrivaled technology and resources with our Minor League teams and players.”

One of the key points of this realignment is the relocation of Triple-A affiliates closer to their Major League clubs. On average, those branches will be about 200 miles closer to their big teams, giving fans in each region more opportunities to see their rising prospects.

What’s more, there will be increases in player salaries at each of the four tiers, from 38% to 72% for the 2021 season. Facilities and general conditions in Minor League will also be improved and modernized to meet the needs of athletes and support employees. There will be less travel for players and managers/coaches.

Below are the affiliates of each of the major league teams.


Toronto Blue Jays

  • AAA: Buffalo Bisons
  • AA: New Hampshire Fisher Cats
  • A+: Vancouver Canadians
  • A: Dunedin Blue Jays

Baltimore Orioles

  • AAA: Norfolk Tides
  • AA: Bowie Baysox
  • A+: Aberdeen Ironbirds
  • A: Delmarva Shorebirds

Tampa Bay Rays

  • AAA: Durham Bulls
  • AA: Montgomery Biscuits
  • A+: Bowling Green Hot Rods
  • A: Charleston RiverDogs

Boston Red Sox

  • AAA: Worcester Red Sox
  • AA: Portland Seadogs
  • A+: Greenville Drive
  • A: Salem Red Sox

New York Yankees

  • AAA: Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders
  • AA: Somerset Patriots
  • A+: Hudson Valley Renegades
  • A: Tampa Tarpons


Cleveland Indians

  • AAA: Columbus Clippers
  • AA: Akron RubberDucks
  • A+: Lake County Captains
  • A: Lynchburg Hillcats

Kansas City Royals

  • AAA: Omaha Storm Chasers
  • AA: Northwest Arkansas Naturals
  • A+: Quad Cities River Bandits
  • A: Columbia Fireflies

Detroit Tigers

  • AAA: Toledo Mud Hens
  • AA: Erie SeaWolves
  • A+: West Michigan Whitecaps
  • A: Lakeland Flying Tigers

Minnesota Twins

  • AAA: St. Paul Saints
  • AA: Wichita Wind Surge
  • A+: Cedar Rapids Kernels
  • A: Fort Myers Mighty Mussels

Chicago White Sox

  • AAA: Charlotte Knights
  • AA: Birmingham Barons
  • A+: Winston-Salem Dash
  • A: Kannapolis Cannon Ballers


Oakland Athletics

  • AAA: Las Vegas Aviators
  • AA: Midland RockHounds*
  • A+: Lansing Lugnuts
  • A: Stockton Ports

Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim

  • AAA: Salt Lake Bees
  • AA: Rocket City Trash Pandas
  • A+: Tri-City Dust Devils
  • A: Inland Empire 66ers

Houston Astros

  • AAA: Sugar Land Skeeters
  • AA: Corpus Christi Hooks
  • A+: Asheville Tourists
  • A: Fayetteville Woodpeckers

Seattle Mariners

  • AAA: Tacoma Rainiers
  • AA: Arkansas Travelers
  • A+: Everett AquaSox
  • A: Modesto Nuts

Texas Rangers

  • AAA: Round Rock Express*
  • AA: Frisco RoughRiders
  • A+: Hickory Crawdads
  • A: Down East Wood Ducks


Atlanta Braves

  • AAA: Gwinnett Stripers
  • AA: Mississippi Braves
  • A+: Rome Braves
  • A: Augusta GreenJackets

Miami Marlins

  • AAA: Jacksonville Jumbo Shrimp
  • AA: Pensacola Blue Wahoos
  • A+: Beloit Snappers
  • A: Jupiter Hammerheads

New York Mets

  • AAA: Syracuse Mets
  • AA: Binghamton Rumble Ponies
  • A+: Brooklyn Cyclones
  • A: St. Lucie Mets

Washington Nationals

  • AAA: Rochester Red Wings
  • AA: Harrisburg Senators
  • A+: Wilmington Blue Rocks
  • A: Fredericksburg Nationals

Philadelphia Phillies

  • AAA: Lehigh Valley IronPigs
  • AA: Reading Fightin Phils
  • A+: Jersey Shore BlueClaws
  • A: Clearwater Threshers


Milwaukee Brewers

  • AAA: Nashville Sounds
  • AA: Biloxi Shuckers
  • A+: Wisconsin Timber Rattlers
  • A: Carolina Mudcats

St Louis Cardinals

  • AAA: Memphis Redbirds
  • AA: Springfield Cardinals
  • A+: Peoria Chiefs
  • A: Palm Beach Cardinals

Chicago Cubs

  • AAA: Iowa Cubs
  • AA: Tennessee Smokies
  • A+: South Bend Cubs
  • A: Myrtle Beach Pelicans

Pittsburgh Pirates

  • AAA: Indianapolis Indians
  • AA: Altoona Curve
  • A+: Greensboro Grasshoppers
  • A: Bradenton Marauders

Cincinnati Reds

  • AAA: Louisville Bats
  • AA: Chattanooga Lookouts
  • A+: Dayton Dragons
  • A: Daytona Tortugas


Arizona D-backs

  • AAA: Reno Aces
  • AA: Amarillo Sod Poodles
  • A+: Hillsboro Hops
  • A: Visalia Rawhide

Los Angeles Dodgers

  • AAA: Oklahoma City Dodgers
  • AA: Tulsa Drillers
  • A+: Great Lakes Loons
  • A: Rancho Cucamonga Quakes

San Francisco Giants

  • AAA: Sacramento River Cats
  • AA: Richmond Flying Squirrels
  • A+: Eugene Emeralds
  • A: San Jose Giants

San Diego Padres

  • AAA: El Paso Chihuahuas
  • AA: San Antonio Missions
  • A+: Fort Wayne TinCaps
  • A: Lake Elsinore Storm

Colorado Rockies

  • AAA: Albuquerque
  • AA: Hartford
  • A+: Spokane
  • A: Fresno

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.