three finalists for a prize

David Le Bailly (The other Rimbaud), Maël Renouard (The historiographer of the kingdom) and Emmanuel Ruben (Sabre) remain in the running to succeed Jérôme Garcin on January 26, who was awarded last year for Le Cid’s last Winter.

Les Deux Magots, a magical place where Verlaine and Rimbaud came to get drunk, decided to award their literary prize no matter what on January 26th. It is out of a spirit of solidarity with booksellers and writers that the famous café, which faces the Saint-Germain-des-Prés church, wanted to maintain this meeting, threatened of course by the epidemic of Covid-19 and its consequences.

At the time of writing, three writers remain in the running to succeed Jérôme Garcin who won the prize in 2020 with his novel, a tender portrait of Gérard Philipe but also an almost autobiographical book, Le Cid’s last winter (ed. Gallimard).

Three books for one price

In The historiographer of the kingdom (ed. Grasset) the philosopher Maël Renouard makes us discover the fate of Abderrahmane Eljarib, a son of a teacher gifted for studies, who will have the privilege of being Hassan’s fellow student at the Royal College of Rabat. Throughout his life, the author takes the opportunity to describe the great history of a people and a country which in order to leave the protectorate will have to accept a very authoritarian form of monarchy.

Second finalist of the Deux Magots, The other Rimbaud (The Iconoclast) by David Le Bailly highlights Frédéric, Arthur’s older brother. Forgotten by the poet’s biographers, rejected by his family, Frédéric Rimbaud becomes the hero of an investigation, where fiction intertwines with reality.

Et enfin, last but not least, Sabre (Stock) by Emmanuel Ruben belongs to the great tradition of historical novels. But here, the investigation of Samuel Vidouble, professor of history, takes us into the dining room of his grandparents where a weapon with a thousand memories is kept …

The jury of the Prix des Deux Magots is chaired by Étienne de Montety and consists of Laurence Caracalla, Jean Chalon, Jean-Luc Coatalem, Marie-Laure Delorme, Éric Deschodt, Louis Doucet, Pauline Dreyfus, Pierre Kyria, Marianne Payot, Anne Pons . He now has less than two weeks to choose his winner …


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.