Tinder’s panic button shares user data with Facebook and YouTube

The panic button announced last week by the Tinder dating application shares user data with advertising technology companies, including Facebook and YouTube. The “app” said that it is working on this new function so that users can notify if they are in a dangerous situation. In order to enable this feature, they will have to download the Noonlight application, which can activate requests to emergency services using a button.

However, by downloading this “app” – which is free – several companies would obtain Tinder user data through Noonlight, as Gizmodo reported.

According to the Noonlight privacy policy, when using the application the user authorizes the company to share their information with “relevant emergency equipment”, as well as with third parties.

«When you use our service, you authorize us to share the information with relevant emergency teams. In addition, we share the information with our business partners, suppliers and external consultants who perform our services on our behalf or help us offer our services, ”says the application.

For its part, the co-founder of Noonlight, Nick Droege, has indicated to Gizmodo through an email that among his “business partners” are sites such as Facebook, YouTube, Branch, Appboy and Kochava.

In addition, he states that he uses these companies to “understand the user’s standard attribution and improve internal messaging in the application.”

Droege also stressed that the application “does not sell user data to third parties for marketing or advertising purposes.” “The mission of Noonlight has always been to keep our millions of users safe,” he stressed.

See Also:  The galactic message | Science

Tinder announced last week that it plans to include Noonlight features for free to its US users by the end of this month. In addition, Match Group, the company in charge of Tinder, also plans to add them to other dating applications in the coming months.

With the Noonlight tool, users can enter information such as the time of the appointment and even details about the person they are left with, according to The Wall Street Journal.

If the user activates the alert, the application can share the information with the authorities, among other things the real-time location of the person.

However, the application does not send the data to the emergency services as soon as you press the button. To avoid false positives, after activating the alert, Noonlight will ask the user to enter a code. If you do not, you will receive a text message and a call and if you do not answer or if in your response you confirm that you need help, the app will notify emergency services. .

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.