Trump threats claim giants Facebook and Twitter

| |

Last updated: Wednesday 4 Shawwal 1441 AH – May 27, 2020 KSA 19:10 – GMT 16:10
Posted on: Wednesday 4 Shawwal 1441 AH – May 27, 2020 KSA 17:16 – GMT 14:16

Source: Dubai – Arabic.net

Facebook and Twitter shares fell 4 percent today, Wednesday, after US President Donald Trump threatened to close their social media platforms.

Facebook shares fell 3.9% today to $ 223.7 a share, while Twitter shares fell 4% to $ 32.66 a share, bringing it closer to the lowest level in 6 months.

Trump on Wednesday threatened to “shut down” social media, in the first response to Twitter’s attempt to censor his tweets.

In a tweet, Trump said, Republicans feel “social media platforms are completely silencing the voices of conservatives. We will organize or close them, before we allow that to happen.”

The US president added: “We saw what they tried to do and failed in 2016. We cannot allow a more complex version of that to happen again.”

The social networking site Twitter accused, on Tuesday, for the first time Trump of providing “false” information, and said that two of his tweets were “unfounded”, after the short message site for a long time resisted calls to impose censorship on the American president about messages contrary to the truth.

The US President responded by accusing Twitter of “interfering in the 2020 presidential election.”

Trump, last week, also criticized the companies that provide social media services, after Facebook banned a number of extremist figures.

.

Previous

We publish Neymar’s plan to return to Barcelona

United States Announces End of Sanctions Exemptions in Iran’s Civilian Nuclear Program

Next

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.