BAG reports 20,496 new infections and 48 deaths since Friday

Prime Minister Naftali Bennett’s government on Monday put Switzerland, Germany, the United States, Canada and several other countries on a list to which Israelis are no longer allowed to travel. The cabinet had decided, Bennett’s office said, and a parliamentary committee was expected to finally approve the measure.

After that, the entry ban should come into force on Wednesday at midnight. The list also included Belgium, Hungary, Italy, Morocco, Portugal and Turkey. Israelis are only allowed to visit these countries with special permission; Returnees from there must first be quarantined.

In Israel, there have been an increasing number of new infections with the Omikron variant in the past few weeks. The country began closing its borders and restricting travel as early as the end of November. Foreigners are not allowed to enter, and Israelis arriving from abroad must be in quarantine – including those who have been vaccinated.

Israel has organized one of the most successful coronavirus vaccination campaigns in the world. More than 4.1 million of the 9.3 million population have already received a third dose of the Biontech / Pfizer vaccine.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.