Delta suspends codeshare agreement with Aeroflot


© AP

Delta Air Lines suspended its codeshare agreement with Russia’s national carrier Aeroflot following Russia’s invasion of Ukraine—and some Baltic and European nations announced the closure of their airspace to Russian carriers.

Atlanta-based Delta announced Friday that its decision suspends the codeshare system that allowed Delta and Aeroflot customers to book flights on both airlines.

“We have withdrawn our code from Aeroflot’s operating services beyond Sheremotyevo Airport in Moscow and remove the Aeroflot code from Delta-operated services from airports in The Angels and JFK in New York. Arrangements will be made for customers affected by these changes,” Delta said in a statement, adding that it does not operate flights to Ukraine or Russia.

The codeshare suspension was announced a day after Britain banned Aeroflot from flying into the country on Thursday.

Aeroflot did not immediately respond Saturday to an email to its communications department requesting comment.

On Saturday, the Baltic nations of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania announced that they will close their airspace to Russian airlines. Slovenia and the Czech Republic they took the same action because of the invasion of Ukraine.

Estonian Prime Minister Kaja Kallas tweeted that Western nations should isolate Russia economically and politically.

“There is no place for the planes of the aggressor State in the democratic skies,” he maintained.

The Slovenian government explained that its ban applies to all aircraft registered in Russia as well as to operators established in Russia and licensed by the competent Russian authority.

The Czech Republic’s decision means the country is “intensifying our measures against Russian aggression in Ukraine,” Czech Transport Minister Martin Kupka said.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.