Handball World Cup: housed in a difficult group, the National Seven wants to win

wednesday, january 13, 2021 at 11:18 am

By Abdelkarim Akarkab
Cairo – The Moroccan men’s handball team, which takes part in the 21st edition of the World Handball Championship in Egypt (January 13/31), aims to sign a decent performance in this competition in order to improve its ranking at the level global.

The Moroccan VII, determined to win in his seventh participation in the Handball World Cup, is housed in group F of the Championship alongside the selections of Portugal, Iceland and Algeria.

Moroccan handball players participated in the 1995, 1997, 1999, 2001, 2003 and 2007 editions of the competition. The best performance of the national team remains that of the 1999 edition, when the national team finished 17th in the final standings of the World Championship.

The Moroccan team begins its participation in the World Cup by facing its Algerian counterpart on Thursday before challenging Portugal on January 16, then Iceland on January 18.

In a statement to MAP, the president of the Royal Moroccan Handball Federation (FRMHB), Adil Hanafi, assured that the national team has actively prepared for this World Championship, adding that his players are determined to sign a convincing participation.

He indicated that the national VII completed a two-month preparation course in the city of Ifrane, and another in Turkey, specifying that his Men played four preparation matches before going to Cairo to participate in the World Cup.

This 27th World Handball Championship, the second in Egypt after 1999 and the 5th outside Europe (Japan 1997, Tunisia 2005, Qatar 2015), promises to be exceptional since it is the first edition with 32 teams, against 24 before.

The competition will be held in four venues in Cairo, New Cairo, City of October 6 and Alexandria. The opener is scheduled for Wednesday between Egypt and Chile at Cairo Stadium Hall, which will also host the final in three weeks.

The 32 qualified teams are divided into eight groups of four teams. Each site hosts two groups of the preliminary round. The top three teams in their respective preliminary round groups will advance to the main round.

The teams ranked last in their preliminary round group will play the President’s Cup. The 24 teams in the main round will be divided into four groups of six teams each.

Apart from the host country, Egypt, six African teams have qualified: Tunisia, Algeria, Angola, Cape Verde, Democratic Republic of Congo and Morocco.

In addition to the reigning world champion, Denmark, 15 European teams will be present: Austria, Belarus, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Slovenia, Sweden, Poland and Russia .

Argentina, Brazil, Chile, and Uruguay will represent South and Central America, the United States will represent North America. Bahrain, Japan, Qatar and South Korea will be the Asian representatives.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.