Indian squad for Sri Lanka tour announced; Dev Dutt in Padikkal team; Sanju returns | Maiden Call-ups for Devdutt Padikkal, Chetan Sakariya; Sanju Samson Returns in Shikhar Dhawan-led Squad

Mumbai: The BCCI has announced the Indian squad for the tour of Sri Lanka. The BCCI announced the squad on its website on Thursday. Malayalee Dev Dutt Padikkal joins the team for the first time. Apart from Dev Dutt, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Nitish Rana, Chetan Zakaria and K Gautam are the new faces in the team. Dev Dutt’s performance in the IPL paved the way for him to join the team. Another Malayalee Sanju Samson has returned to the team.

Shikhar Dhawan will lead India in the series. Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the vice captain. India will play three ODIs and three T20Is against Sri Lanka. The ODIs will be played on July 13, 16 and 18. The Twenty20 matches will be played on July 21, 23 and 25.

When Prithviraj Shah, Manish Pandey and Sanju Samson returned to the team, Varun Chakraborty, who failed the fitness test, and Shreyas Iyer, who was injured, were left out.

Team: Shikhar Dhawan (capt), Prithviraj Shah, Dev Dutt Padikkal, Ruthuraj Gaekwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandey, Nitish Rana, Ishant Kishan (wickets – Keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Yusvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gautam, Krunal Pandey, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakraborty, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Zakaria.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.