Morocco remotely chairs the 25th session of the Board of Directors of the Sahara and Sahel Observatory

The High Commissioner for Water and Forest in the fight against Desertification (HCEFLCD), Abdeladim Lhafi.

The High Commissioner for Water, Forests and the Fight against Desertification, President of the Sahara and Sahel Observatory (OSS), chaired the 25th session of the Board of Directors of this organization, with the remote participation of member countries and regional and international organizations.

This session of the Board of Directors, of which Morocco is resident for the period 2016 – 2020, coincides with the end of the 2020 strategy and the launch of the OSS 2030 strategy, which will be presented to the 6th General Assembly to have held on November 25 and 26, 2020.

The Board of Directors, in addition to the financial documents and the physical achievements for the 2016 – 2020 deadline, examined and approved the appointment of Mr. Nabil BEN KHATRA (Tunisia) as the new Executive Secretary of the Organization, after a selection process by an international commission chaired by Dr Abdeladim LHAFI.

The new OSS Strategy 2030 is structured around a strategic framework closely linked to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), to the Strategies of the three Rio Conventions (UNCCD, UNFCCC and CBD), to the Commission’s Agenda 2063. the African Union, the 5 priorities for Africa of the African Development Bank, the sector strategies (water, environment, agriculture and climate) of the sub-regions and countries of the OSS action zone, as well as the initiatives selected (3S, AAI, triple A and those relating to the Great Green Wall and Lake Chad).

The 2030 strategy is consistent with the major initiatives and roadmaps of the Summit of African Heads of State and Government held on the sidelines of the COP22 that Morocco hosted in 2016 in Marrakech.

The 2030 Strategy aims to support the countries of the OSS action zone in the implementation of their sustainable development strategies. It will implement a scientific and technical program entitled “Integrated and concerted management of natural resources” which constitutes the heart of OSS action and which is articulated around four thematic axes (Water, Earth, Climate and Biodiversity) inter – linked in a logic of integrated development.

It should be remembered that the OSS is an international organization with an African vocation, created in 1992 and established in Tunis in 2000. Its action is located in the arid, semi-arid and dry subhumid zones of the Sahelo-Saharan region. OSS counts among its members 25 African countries (Algeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Ivory Coast, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Libya, Mali, Morocco, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Uganda , Senegal, Somalia, Sudan, Chad & Tunisia.), 7 non-African countries (Germany, Belgium, Canada, France, Italy, Luxembourg & Switzerland.), 13 organizations (organizations representing West Africa, East and North, United Nations organizations) and 3 non-governmental organizations.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.