Orlando Jorge to the Environment; Sanz for Customs and Luis Valdez DGII

Santo Domingo, RD.

The president-elect of the Dominican Republic, Luis Abinader, announced this afternoon that Orlando Jorge Mera will be the new Minister of the Environment and Natural Resources.

While Eduardo Sanz Lovaton was announced as the next director general of Customs in the country.

Sanz Lovaton is the current Finance Secretary of the Modern Revolutionary Party and has always been considered one of the people close to the president-elect.

While Luis Valdez, another of Abinader’s close political leaders, was appointed as the next general director of Internal Revenue.

The announcement of the president-elect was made through the social network Twitter, as has become customary.

Abinader will officially assume power on Sunday, August 16, in a ceremony in the hall of the National Assembly, in the National Congress.

The elected president announced on the afternoon of Sunday, August 9, that by December of this year all Dominicans will have health coverage, thanks to the savings they will make with the eliminations and mergers of institutions.

“With the savings resulting from the merger and elimination of unnecessary institutions, as of August 16, we will include 2 million Dominicans in family health insurance. By December of this year 100% of Dominicans will have access to health services, “he wrote.

These have been his appointments

“Lic. Francisco Antonio -Tony- Peña (@tonypenaguaba) will be appointed as coordinator of the Social Policy Cabinet,” the president-elect wrote on August 6, 2020. That same day he announced that the Progresando con Solidaridad program will be directed by Gloria Reyes.

“Lic. Gloria Reyes (@GloriaReyesG) will be appointed as director of Progresando con Solidaridad, who will also be a member of this inter-institutional commission,” Abinader posted on his social networks.

On Friday, July 31, the president-elect appointed Mayra Jiménez as Minister for Women; Francisco Camacho as Minister of Sports and Recreation and Deputy Víctor (Ito) Bisonó as Minister of Industry, Commerce and Mypimes.

Jiménez will replace Janet Camilo Hernández in the Ministry of Women, who has held that position since last August 2016, while Francisco Camacho will replace Danilo Díaz, also in the position since 2016.

While the current deputy Ito Bisonó will replace Nelson Toca Simó, who has been Minister of Industry and Commerce since 2017.

With these appointments, Abinader still has to assign the representatives of the Ministry of Culture, led by Eduardo Selman; Ministry of Higher Education, Science and Technology, headed by Alejandrina Germán; in addition to the Ministry of the Environment and Natural Resources, which is held by Ángel Estévez.

Similarly, and one of the most awaited appointments due to the promises of an independent justice, is the appointment of the Attorney General of the Republic, currently held by Jean Alain Rodríguez.

Abinader has been making the announcement of the formation of his cabinet of ministers through his social network Twitter.

On July 27, he appointed Dr. Mario Lama as director of the National Health Service; Luis Miguel De Camps as Minister of Labor and Sonia Guzmán as Ambassador of the Dominican Republic in Washington.

The president-elect also appointed Kimberly Taveras as Minister of Youth, Jesús Vásquez Martínez, as Minister of the Interior and Police, and Mrs. Mercedes Pérez Ceballos as Deputy Minister of Social Management and Citizen Education.

It also appointed Darío Castillo Lugo as Minister of Public Administration.

Also David Collado as Minister of Tourism, as well as Deligne Asención, who from August 16 will be the Minister of Public Works.

It has also appointed three vice ministers in the Ministry of Tourism. These were Jackeline Mora, Tourism Technician; Patricia Mejía, Destination Management and Yaneris Then Medina, Administrative.

Abinader has already appointed Dr. Plutarco Arias, as Minister of Health; Ivelisse Acosta, vice minister; and Carlos Pimentel as director of Public Procurement.

José Ignacio Paliza was appointed as the Administrative Minister of the Presidency, Carlos Luciano Díaz Morfa as Minister of Defense, Antonio Almonte in the Ministry of Energy and Mines and Jochi Vicente will be the new Minister of Finance.

The Legal Consultant of the Executive Branch will be Antoliano Peralta, who will replace Flavio Darío Espinal, who has held the position since 2016.

The Minister of Economy, Planning and Development, will be Miguel Ceara Hatton and Lisandro Macarrulla in the minister of the Presidency of the Republic, both are in the technical government transition commission.

In the Ministry of Education, the educator Roberto Furcal was appointed, who served as Abinader’s campaign director.

The Ministry of Foreign Relations (Mirex) will be in charge of Roberto Álvarez, who was the ambassador of the Dominican Republic to the Organization of American States (OAS).

María José Martínez was also appointed as Deputy Minister of Public Credit.

The new Economic Advisor to the Executive Branch will be the economist Pedro Silverio. The General Budget Directorate will be in charge of José Rijo Presbot, who is part of the economic transition team.

A resounding decision by Abinader was to ratify Héctor Valdez Albizu as governor of the Central Bank.

Biviana Riveiro will be appointed as Executive Director of the Export and Investment Center (CEI-RD). The Superintendency of Banks will appoint Alejandro Fernández, who is managing director of preoccuparium, SRL, a firm of analysts specialized in the financial sector of the Dominican Republic that she founded and directs since January 2005.

The television communicator and producer, Milagros Germán, will be the new Director of Communications and Spokesperson for the Dominican Presidency.

Milagros Ortiz Bosch will be responsible for transparency and anti-corruption policies, in what appears to be the current Directorate of Government Ethics.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.