The US announces the 18 astronauts of the program with which it will return to the Moon – Science – Life

NASA announced this Wednesday the 18 astronauts, nine men and nine women, who will be part of the Artemis program, with which he plans to reach the Moon in 2024 and establish a permanent base, and among those that appear the one who will be the first woman to set foot on the terrestrial satellite.

(You may be interested in: Where and at what time can the eclipse of December 14 be seen?)

From this list of 18 astronauts, who according to NASA own a “wide range of backgrounds, knowledge and experience“The man and the woman will come out, who will land on the moon in four years and who will pave the way for the next human missions that will orbit and reach the Moon.

The names of the 18 astronauts were released this Wednesday by the Vice President of the United States, Mike Pence, at the end of the eighth and last meeting of the National Space Council, at the Keneddy Space Center, Cape Canaveral, Florida (USA). USA). “I present to you the heroes who will take us to the Moon and beyond, the Artemis generation“, said Pence after reading the list of the 18 astronauts, next to the administrator of NASA, Jim Bridenstine.

Five astronauts who are part of the team with which the US will continue the work of the historic Apollo missions that reached the Moon for the first time 50 years ago were part of the presentation.

The five astronauts who were present at Cape Canaveral were 53-year-old hydrogeologist Joe Fincas; US Navy test pilot Matthew Dominick, 39; 41-year-old US Army and aerospace engineer Anne McClain; the marine biologist and philosopher Jessica Meir, 43, and the geologist Jessica Watkins, 32.

READ  When technology goes out of whack: Grid-connected pans and mattresses | Trends

The others who are part of the team of 18 astronauts are: Kayla Barron (33 years), Raja Chari (43), Victor Glover (44), Woody Hoburg (35), Jonny Kim (36), Christina Koch (41), Kjell Lindgren (47), Nicole Mann (43), Jasmin Moghbeli (37), Kate Rubins (42), Frank Rubio (44), Scott Tingle (55) and Stephanie Wilson (54).

It’s really surprising to think that the next man and the first woman on the Moon are among the names we just read that may be standing in the room right now.“said Vice President Pence.

The space agency’s Artemis program, named after Apollo’s twin sister, is scheduled to begin sending robotic missions in 2021., which will be followed by manned Artemis II missions that will orbit the Moon in 2023. Pence thanked US President Donald Trump “for renewing US leadership in space.”

NASA plans to select the Artemis II crew members from this group of 18 beginning in 2021.
, and later to the crew of Artemis III, which will reach the Moon. During the business meeting, Pence further announced that Cape Canaveral Air Force Station will become Cape Canaveral Space Force Station and Patrick Air Force Base will become Patrick Space Force Base.

The United States Government has defined the Space Force as the sixth branch of the United States Armed Forces – the others are the Air, Ground, Navy, Marine Corps and Coast Guard -, although it will be under the umbrella of the Air Force.


We also recommend:

What if the star of Bethlehem was not the conjunction of Jupiter and Saturn?

READ  Apple chip maker TSMC builds factory in the United States

A wingless ancestor of the pterosaur fills an evolutionary void

What is the ‘atlantification’ of the Arctic Ocean and why does it concern?


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.