Wayne Taylor Racing gewinnt in Road Atlanta

Motorsport-Magazin.com – Wayne Taylor Racing wins the prestigious Petit Le Mans at Road Atlanta. The duo Ryan Briscoe and Renger Van der Zande further extend their lead in the championship on Acura. In the GTLM class, Porsche defeated the championship-leading Corvette driven by Antonio Garcia and Jordan Taylor with Nick Tandy, Fred Makowiecki and Matt Campbell.

Collision decides the race

The crucial moment of the 10-hour race came eleven minutes before the end. The Whelen-Engineering Cadillac with the number 31 and the # 7 Acura of Team Penske dueled for the lead. A collision occurred when the Acura tried to overtake it, which was being driven by Ricky Taylor at the time.

While the Cadillac hit the barrier, Taylor was able to continue. Renger Van der Zande used the incident to take the lead, defended it at the following restart and celebrated the victory together with his teammates Scott Dixon and Ryan Briscoe. Ricky Taylor, who was traveling with Indy legend Helio Castroneves and Alexander Rossi in the Acura, at least saved second position across the line.

Most recently, the # 7 Acura had been able to collect three wins in a row and was thus able to considerably reduce the gap to the championship leaders # 31-Cadillac. With the victory of the Wayne Taylor Racing team at Road Atlanta, the difference between the first two of the championship is eight points again. It was Wayne Taylor Racing’s second win of the season after winning the Daytona 24 Hours.

Third place went to the second Acura from Team Penske with the trio Montoya / Cameron / Pagenaud. In qualifying, the # 6 car was able to take pole position. Nasr / Derani and Albuquerque’s Whelen Engineering Cadillac, torn from the battle for victory by the collision, finished the Petit Le Mans two laps behind in fifth position.

In the LMP2 class, in which only four vehicles started, the class victory went to Tower Motorsport by Starworks in an Oreca LMP2 07 with the line-up Farano / Jensen / Van Uitert ahead of Performance Tech Motorsports (McGuire / Bell / Braun) and Inter Europol Competition (McCusker / Smiechovski / Hodes).

GTLM: Porsche wins ahead of Corvette

It was also exciting in the GTLM class. There the championship-leading Corvette drivers Antonio Garcia and Jordan Taylor, who were third with Nicky Catsburg, had to admit defeat to the Porsche GT Team. The trio of Nick Tandy, Fred Makowiecki and Matt Campbell secured victory in the car with the # 911. In the championship, however, the Corvette is still clearly ahead. 3rd place went to the Team RLL BMW with Krohn / Edwards / Farfus.

In the GTD class, in which GT3 cars are used and which, as befits their status, has the largest number of crews, victory went to the trio MacNeil / Balzan / Westphal in the Ferrari of Scuderia Corsa. AIM-Vasser Sullivan’s Lexus followed in second and third place. (Telitz / Hawksworth / De Quesada) and the GRT Magnus-Lamborghini (Potter / Lally / Pumpelly).

With second place, Aaron Telitz also secured the lead in the championship. The previous leading duo Farnbacher / McMurry from Meyer Shank Racing ended up only in tenth position, 14 laps behind.

The next race of the American endurance championship will take place on November 1st in Laguna Seca. The season finale follows two weeks later with the legendary Sebring 12-hour race.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.