5 other agreements signed in Rabat

Five other West African countries have affixed their signatures to the agreement relating to the extension of the Nigeria-Morocco Gas Pipeline project, this December 5, 2022, in Rabat.

These are Ghana (Ghana National Gas Company), Gambia (Gambia National Petroleum Corporation), Guinea (SONAP), Guinea-Bissau (Petroguin) and Sierra Leone (PDSL), with which the National Office of Hydrocarbons and Mines (ONHYM) of Morocco and the National Petroleum Company of Nigeria (NNPC Limited) have signed memorandums of understanding, thus taking a new step in the realization of the Gas Pipeline project.

The memoranda, like those signed with ECOWAS on September 15, 2022 and with Mauritania and Senegal on October 15, 2022, confirm the parties’ commitment to this strategic project.

The 5,600 kilometer Nigeria-Morocco Gas Pipeline will span more than 11 countries along the Atlantic coast, with the ambition of bringing gas to more than 400 million people. Morocco will be home to 1,672 kilometers of the pipeline, which will transport Nigerian gas to Europe via the North African country Mauritania, Senegal, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Sierra Leone, Liberia , Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Togo and Benin.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.