50th Annual North Dakota Shrine Bowl Rosters Announced: All-Star Football Games Set for June 22 at Mayville State University

2024-04-18 02:34:52

FARGO — Rosters for the 50th annual North Dakota Shrine Bowl were announced Wednesday.

More than 120 senior players from North Dakota and western Minnesota were invited to play in this year’s all-star football games, set for Saturday, June 22 at Jerome Berg Field on the campus of Mayville State University.

Festivities kick off with the 9-man game at 4 p.m. followed by the 11-man game at 7 p.m.

Players will report to practice at Mayville State on Tuesday, June 18, and will participate in an array of activities leading up to game day.

West’s Chase Selle breaks up a pass intended for East’s Gabe Nero during the 11-man Shrine Bowl game at Jerome Berg Field in Mayville on Saturday, June 24, 2023.

David Samson/The Forum

The weeklong event is hosted by the El Zagal Shriners and Kem Shriners. First contested in 1974, the North Dakota Shrine Bowl was created with the goal of honoring high school football athletes who excel both on and off the field and display high character, to raise awareness and funds for the Shriners Children’s nonprofit, and to inform the public about the organization, according to its website.

Teams are split into East and West. This year’s 9-man East roster consists of 26 players while the 9-man West roster featurs 25. Both 11-man squads feature 38 players per side.


Fargo North’s Peder Haugo moves towards the end zone against Grand Forks Central during their football game on Friday, Aug. 25, 2023, at Fargo North High School.

Alyssa Goelzer/The Forum

Although primarily a North Dakota event, rosters feature a handful of Minnesota players as well. Shrine Bowl began inviting student-athletes from western Minnesota to play in the games in 2006 as both the El Zagal Shriners and Kem Shriners’ membership spans east of the Red River and also allows those players exposure they may not otherwise get on the western side of the state.

The East topped the West 21-0 in the 11-man game during the 2023 Shrine Bowl while last year’s 9-man contest was called off during the first quarter due to a severe weather threat with the East leading 8-0.

For a full schedule of events, tickets and more information, visit ndshrinebowl.com.

This year’s rosters are:

11-man East

Brock Jungels, Carrington

Ethan Miller, Valley City

Tray Kuntz, Grand Forks Central

Jack Simmers, Grand Forks Central

Leo Strandell, Grand Forks Central

Tyler Whalen, Grand Forks Central

Jake Hennings, Bottineau

Carson Haerer, Bottineau

Mario Garza, Oakes

Trey Skoglund, Oakes

Max Walock, Oakes

Hudson Hodous, Devils Lake

Drew Hofstad, Devils Lake

Jim Miller, Fargo North

Peder Haugo, Fargo North

Peter Davis, Fargo North

Joe Rose, Fargo North

Jordan Zander, Fargo North

Damarion Semanko, Fargo South

Brody Anderson, Fargo South

Trey Hoffert, Fargo South

Dilon Filler, Kindred

Mason Romfo, Langdon-Edmore-Munich

Rayce Worley, Langdon-Edmore-Munich

Cole Welsh, Langdon-Edmore-Munich

Cam Ahlers, Fargo Shanley

Sam Ovsak, Fargo Shanley

Landon Meier, Fargo Shanley

Luke Rogen, Fargo Shanley

Keyton McGregor, West Fargo

Isaac Wisnewski, Central Cass

Marcus Biffert, Central Cass

Andre Werk, Fargo Davies

Zach Oehlke, Grand Forks Red River

Lawson Lotysz, Grand Forks Red River

Cameron Spaeth, Ada-Borup West

Charlie Zok, Detroit Lakes

Ethan Larson, Barnesville


Jake Schauer, Grand Forks Central

Eric Burgad, Kindred

Greg Dobitz, Oakes

Todd Lambrecht, Devils Lake

11-man West

Logan Rist, Des Lacs-Burlington

Ty Hughes, Des Lacs-Burlington

Keaton Cole, Nedrose

Phoenix Delorme, Turtle Mountain

Roman Fossum, Bowman County

Carter Henke, Bismarck

Luke Dockter, Bismarck

Quin Hafner, Bismarck

Preston Lemar, Bismarck

Bridger Owens, Bismarck

Simon Buchfinck, Beulah

Riley Moulton, Beulah

Gavin Lill, Bismarck Century

Austin Smith, Bismarck Century

Alex Vyska, Bismarck Legacy

Ethan Halverson, Dickinson

Cole Skabo, Dickinson

Jamison Rime, Velva-Garrison-Drake-Anamoose

Coy Okeson, Bishop Ryan

Jack Hynek, Stanley

Ethyn Jessen, Stanley

Tyler Gjellstad, Stanley

Isaac Emmel, Shiloh Christian

Noah Schuette, Shiloh Christian

Cayden Neurohr, Killdeer

Martin Waggoner Jr., Watford City

Gage Glaser, Dickinson Trinity

Ty Dassinger, Dickinson Trinity

Carter Knutson, Southern McLean

Hunter Corbin, Mandan

DeJarius Jones, Minot

Luke Beeter, Minot

Derrick Arivett, Minot

Michael George, Minot

Colter Azbell, Williston

Zach Jeuch, East Grand Forks

Mike Gapp, Polk County West

Drew Harris, Lake Park-Audubon


Mark Kennedy, Williston

John Oderman, Dickinson Trinity

John Tuchsherer, Dickinson

Andrew Cook, Killdeer

9-man East

Nick Wulfekuhle, Richland

Havlin Delong, North Prairie

Blake Mattson, North Prairie

Carter Casavant, North Prairie

Parker Simon, North Star

Luke Martinson, Sargent County

Josh Wittich, Sargent County

Nick Hansen, Sargent County

Kolten Kadoun, Sargent County

Grady Wehlander, Sargent County

Tyler Brandt, Wyndmere-Lidgerwood

Levi Kackman, Wyndmere-Lidgerwood

Jared Quam, Wyndmere-Lidgerwood

Parker Huberg, Hankinson

Cooper Boll, Hankinson

Zachary Gibson, Nelson County

Ross Thompson, Nelson County

Jaxon Baumgarn, Nelson County

Connor Knatterud, New Rockford-Sheyenne-Maddock

DJ Mudgett, New Rockford-Sheyenne-Maddock

Logan Maddock, New Rockford-Sheyenne-Maddock

Macyn Olson, New Rockford-Sheyenne-Maddock

Jonathon Leonard, St. John

Blase Isaacson, LaMoure-Litchville-Marion

Connor Dahl, Maple River

Ryan Kangas, Win-E-Mac


Josh Keller, North Prairie

Jason Monilaws, Hankinson

Scott Strenge, Wyndmere-Lidgerwood

Daniel Grande, North Star

9-man West

Ethan Amundson, Surrey

Nash Wollenzien, Towner-Granville-Upham

Ty Schmidt, Towner-Granville-Upham

Hunter Davis, Tioga

Braden Jahner, Hettinger-Scranton

Maddox Pierce, Hettinger-Scranton

Weston Zacher, Grant County-Flasher

Trevor Miller, Kidder County

Collin Zimmerman, Kidder County

Maddox Juntunen, Westhope-Newburg-Glenburn

Colin Goettle, South Border

Connor Kosiak, South Border

Trevor Schmidt, South Border

Clay Jacob, South Border

Ethan Maier, New Salem-Almont

Jace Jochim, Linton H-M-B

Riley Richter, Linton H-M-B

Matthew Huether, Hettinger County

Jaren Rafferty, Hettinger County

Tallen Binstock, Hettinger County

Cris Peppard, Mohall-Lansford-Sherwood

Lucas Sims, Central McLean

Von Irwin, Central McLean

Keaton Wehrman, Alexander

Alex Churness, Clearbrook-Gonvick


Evan Mellmer, South Border

Ben Wollenzien, Towner-Granville-Upham

Tim Schaffer, Tioga

Kurtis Walls, Linton-H-M-B


Kindred’s Trey Heinrich crash lands to score a touchdown against the West during the 11-man Shrine Bowl game at Jerome Berg Field in Mayville on Saturday, June 24, 2023.

David Samson/The Forum


West quarterback Payton Hochhalter carries against team East during the 11-man Shrine Bowl game at Jerome Berg Field in Mayville on Saturday, June 24, 2023.

David Samson/The Forum


East’s Colton Schneider carries in the hail during the 11-man Shrine Bowl game at Jerome Berg Field in Mayville on Saturday, June 24, 2023.

David Samson/The Forum

#Rosters #announced #50th #annual #North #Dakota #Shrine #Bowl #InForum

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.