History Against Them: Only Five Teams to Lose Second Leg Semi-final and Still Win Championship

2023-12-11 04:53:26

Only five teams that have lost the second leg semi-final have been crowned champions in the same tournament

America It has the history of short tournaments against it. The Águilas are the fourteenth team to advance to a final after losing the second leg of the semi-finalsjust as happened to the azulcrema in this Opening 2023 against Atlético de San Luis. In the previous 13 occasions, only five have been champions.

The short tournaments were established in the Winter of 1996. Since that moment, 55 editions have been played under this format and only 14 times has it happened that teams that lose in the second leg semi-finalsreach the championship series.

Pachuca, in Winter 1999, was the first team to reach the final after falling in the second leg. semi-finals and won the championship, after beating Cruz Azul 2-1 in overtime in the match that was held at the Azul Stadium.

América defined the semifinal against Atlético de San Luis from the first leg, but they were booed in the second leg Imago7/ Ángel Guevara

The same situation was repeated in the 2002 Apertura, but with Morelia as the protagonist. The Purépechas fell at the turn of the semi-finals against Pumas and did not recover for the final, which they lost against Toluca.

Monterrey became champion in the 2003 Clausura, but before that they recovered from a 1-2 loss against Tigres in the second leg of the playoffs. semi-finals. Already in the final, Rayados beat Morelia 1-3.

Pachuca, the first team to be champion after losing in the second leg semi-finalshe repeated it in the Clausura 2006. Los Tuzos fell to Chivas, but their position in the general table took them to the final, where they beat San Luis by the minimum.

Editorial Selections

Pumas reached the final of the 2007 Apertura after losing 4-2 against Santos in the return of the semi-finals. The UNAM team faced Atlante in the duel for the title, which in the end remained in the Colts’ showcase.

Related Articles:   Devin Booker checks on a baby after a big step-back

The Clausura 2009 final is an atypical case in the history of short tournaments. Pachuca and Pumas, the teams that competed for that title, came to the series after losing their second leg semi-final match. The Tuzos won that championship.

After that final between Pachuca and Pumas, there were five runners-up for teams that reached the final after losing the second leg. semi-finals. Toluca (Apertura 2012), Pachuca (Clausura (2014), Pumas (Apertura 2015), León (Clausura 2019) and Santos (Clausura 2021).

Check here all the news and results of the Liga MX.

Atlas broke the streak of runners-up in the Apertura 2021, a tournament in which the rojinegros began to write their two-time championship. Pumas defeated the Guadalajara in the return of the semi-finalsbut the Zorros recovered and won the title after beating León in the penalty shootout.

America missed the turn of the semi-finals of the Apertura 2023 against Atlético de San Luis and history is against him. In that same scenario, only five have been able to lift the trophy and the remaining eight have remained runners-up.

#America #history #teams #reach #final #defeat

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.