Sport Kobe Bryant among 8 finalists for the Basketball Hall...

Kobe Bryant among 8 finalists for the Basketball Hall of Fame


CHICAGO (AP) – The list of finalists for the Basketball Hall of Fame is considerably shorter than usual.

The voters really didn’t need this year anymore.

Kobe Bryant, Tim Duncan and Kevin Garnett – 48 all-star nods between them – led the class of eight finalists announced by the Hall of Fame on Friday. Everyone has to collect 18 votes from a panel of 24 before officially becoming the Hall of Famers, which is certainly just a formality at this point.

Around 13 people have been finalists in recent years. But the star power at the top forced the hall to change their minds this year, a decision made before Bryant died unexpectedly in a southern California helicopter crash on January 26.

“We did it because Kobe, Duncan, and Garnett did a lot before Kobe’s death,” said Jerry Colangelo, chair of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. ” We have never had such a strong class at the top. And then, with Kobe’s death, it naturally added more focus. ”

Bryant, Duncan, Garnett and ten-time WNBA All-Star and four-time Olympic gold medalist Tamika Catchings are all first-time finalists. The other finalists were all on this point before: Baylor women’s trainer Kim Mulkey, former Houston Rockets coach Rudy Tomjanovich, five-time Division II female coach of the year Barbara Stevens of Bentley, and four-time national men’s college coach of the year Eddie Sutton ,

This year’s anchorage class will be announced on April 4 at the College College Basketball Final Four in Atlanta. The launch ceremony in Springfield, Massachusetts will take place on August 29.

“Hall of Famer is something you don’t really think about, that you don’t really dream of,” said Garnett. ” It just happens. … this is one of the most overwhelming situations I’ve ever been in. ”

Bryant was an 18-time all-star and five-time NBA champion during a 20-year career with the Los Angeles Lakers, a two-time Olympic gold medalist, and is the fourth-best scorer in league history. He died with his 13-year-old daughter Gianna and seven others when the group was heading to a basketball tournament last month.

The hall hopes to find a way this year to achieve completely different tones: it celebrates the new Hall of Famers and at the same time recognizes the giants of the game who have died in the past few weeks – Bryant, the former NBA commissioner David Stern and the legendary high school coach Morgan Wootten among them.

“There’s a lot of sensitivity … but it’s done right,” said Colangelo.

Most Recommended Web hosting

World News :

Catchings is also a former WNBA MVP, won a national championship under coach Pat Summitt in Tennessee and was four-time All-American with the Lady Vols.

I’m just so blessed, said Catchings. ”I am so grateful.”

The hall also announced the Curt Gowdy Media Award recipients for this year: sports journalist and commentator Michael Wilbon, who has spent three decades with the Washington Post and is now at ESPN, and longtime NBA commentator Mike Breen – the voice of NBA finals.

Breen found out about his award on the plane when he received an email a few days ago. Then he cried and his eyes filled with tears again on Friday – as will likely be the case at a very emotional ceremony as the game continues to mourn Bryant’s death.

It will be incredibly sad, said Breen. ” We made a game, the first Laker game on ESPN after his death, and it was the saddest thing I’ve ever done from a professional point of view, and I hope I never have to be part of anything like that again. He was so full of life and it seemed like he was never happier or more relaxed.

“And then add to the other victims, the children, it will be the most emotional induction ceremony ever – without question and rightly so.”

A couple of new Gowdy Awards have also been unveiled. Turner’s “Inside The NBA” crew of Ernie Johnson, Charles Barkley, Kenny Smith and Shaquille O’Neal was announced as the first winner in the “Transformative Media” category. And long-time sportscaster Jim Gray was the first recipient of the Insight Media Award.

The John W. Bunn Lifetime Achievement Award is also given posthumously to Tim Nugent, the founder of the National Wheelchair Basketball Association.

— —.

Further AP NBA: and


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest news

Femen’s naked breasts are sexual display, judges the Court of Cassation

There are court victories that leave a bitter taste. The Court of Cassation dismissed, Wednesday, February 26, the appeal...

Forty countries now affected by coronavirus worldwide

At the Vatican, believers who came to see Pope Francis wear masks on February 26. Gregorio Borgia...

2019 was a record year for PSA, an ordeal for Renault

PSA presented this Wednesday morning, at its headquarters in Rueil-Malmaison (Hauts-de-Seine) exceptional financial results for the 2019 financial year....

Slow and steady training “best to improve heart health”

A slow and steady exercise program is the best way to improve health and prevent a heart attack, researchers...

Officials alert about pandemic risks when global outbreaks occur

<p class = "canvas-atom canvas-text Mb (1.0em) Mb (0) - sm Mt (0.8em) - sm" type = "text" content...

isa Loeb reflects her 25 years in public

<p class = "canvas-atom canvas-text Mb (1.0em) Mb (0) - sm Mt (0.8em) - sm" type = "text" content...

Must read

Femen’s naked breasts are sexual display, judges the Court of Cassation

There are court victories that leave a bitter taste....

Forty countries now affected by coronavirus worldwide

At the Vatican, believers who came to...

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you