Mountain Classification Winners in the Vuelta a España: A Complete History and Recent Champions

2023-08-27 18:56:33

This Sunday the second stage of the Tour of Spain was held, which ended in the city of Barcelona and which left Andreas Kron as the winner, in a controversial ending full of doubts due to the advantages that were marked at the neutralization point. The leader is the Italian Andrea Piccolo, who from the escape cut the time he had since the team time trial.

In the mountains classification, the first leader is the Italian Matteo Sobrero, who left in the breakaway and crowned the first ports of the race.

Mountain classification in the Vuelta a España 2023:

1. Matteo Sobrero | Italy | Jayco AlUlla | 6 points
2. Javier Romo | Spain | Astana Kazakhstan | 6 points
3.Andreas Kron | Denmark | Lotto Dstny | 3 points
4. Joel Nicolau | Spain | Country Fund | 3 points
5. Romain Gregoire | France | Groupama FDJ | 2 points
6. Marijn van den Berg | Paizes Bajos | EF Education | 1 point

This Monday’s stage will see the first hilltop finish in the Iberian round edition, with the arrival in Andorra, where the Coll d’Ordina will be climbed and there will be an unprecedented goal in Arinsal; It will be the first great first for the contenders for the title of the competition, with two ports of great demand.

Andrea Piccolo, Italian cyclist, in the Vuelta a España.

Credit: EFProCycling.

How many Colombians have been champions of the mountain classification in the Vuelta a España?

Since 1935, the organization of the Iberian round awards recognition to the best climber in the race. However, only since 2010, the blue polka dot jersey has been delivered, similar to that of the Tour de France. In history, our country has been victorious six times, spread over four riders. Lucho Herrera (1987, 1991) and Félix Cárdenas (2003, 2004) achieved it twice. While Óscar de Jesús Vargas (1989) and Martín Farfán (1990), on one occasion.

Who have been the last champions of the mountain jersey in the Vuelta a España?

2022: Richard Carapaz (INEOS Grenadiers) – Ecuador2021: Michael Storer (Team DSM) – Australia2020: Guillaume Martin (Cofidis) – France2019: Geoffrey Bouchard (AG2R) – France2018: Thomas de Gendt (Lotto-Soudal) – Belgium2017: Davide Villella ( Cannondale) – Italy2016: Omar Fraile (Dimension Data) – Spain2015: Omar Fraile (Caja Rural) – Spain2014: Luis León Sánchez (Caja Rural) – Spain2013: Nicolas Edet (Cofidis) – France2012: Simon Clarke (Orica) – Australia
#Vuelta #España #mountain #classification

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.