One in five Chileans will be in quarantine as of this Thursday

Twenty-five communes in Chile, belonging to eight regions, will enter quarantine – phase one of the “Step by Step” plan – from this Thursday, at 05:00 hours, due to the increase in Covid-19 cases in these areas.

The measure includes five regional capitals: Antofagasta, Concepción, Temuco, Valdivia and Puerto Montt.

In addition, it highlights that Biobío and Los Lagos are the regions with the largest number of localities that will enter confinement.

This implies that citizens in quarantine will go from the 1.4 million who were under the measure the day before to almost 4 million, which means more than 20 percent of the country’s total population.

From north to south, the communes that go back to the mentioned phase one are:

  • Antofagasta Region: Mussels and Antofagasta
  • O’Higgins Region: Saint vincent
  • Maule Region: Teno
  • Bio bio region: Talcahuano, Hualqui, Concepción, San Pedro de la Paz and Chiguayante
  • Araucania region: Renaico, Galvarino, Victoria and Temuco
  • River region: Valdivia, Los Lagos and Good River
  • Los Lagos Region: Quellón, Calbuco, Dalcahue, Castro, Ancud, Puerto Montt, Puerto Varas and Osorno
  • Aysén region: Aysén

Meanwhile, and also from Thursday, fall back to transition (phase two), 22 communes from 12 regions.

The commune of Lautaro, in the La Araucanía Region, is also in transition, but moving forward.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.