a long-awaited 90th edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans

Several motorsport disciplines are represented at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, with professional and amateur drivers in four categories. In the flagship Hypercar category, the No. 7 Toyota Gazoo Racing team, winners last year, will be closely watched. The Japanese manufacturer is indeed aiming for the record of five consecutive victories.

The two Toyota GR010 Hybrids will face the Alpine Elf Endurance Team, but also the two Glickenhaus Racing teams. In the LMP2 category, 27 cars will be on the track, driven in particular by former Formula 1 drivers Sébastien Bourdais, Robert Kubica and Felipe Nasr, but also by Sébastien Ogier, eight-time FIA ​​world rally champion.

With his title at the 1000 Miles of Sebring, Josh Pierson has become the youngest driver to have won an FIA World Endurance Championship race, and he will also become the youngest competitor to have started at the 24 Hours of Le Mans. In the LMGTE Pro class, Corvette Racing is back with two cars, while the all-female team Iron Dames will race in the LMGTE Am class for the fourth time.

On the afternoon of June 12, the team that has covered the greatest distance will take the podium to lift the Le Mans 24 Hours trophy, and each driver will receive a Daytona engraved for the occasion.

Tom Kristensen, who joined the Rolex family in 2010, has won several: “ my Daytonas have great emotional value to me, and they mean as much to me now as when I won them. They represent key moments in my career. When I look at them, I don’t just see the precision, I also see the performance of my team and my co-drivers over all these years. ».

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.