DCP ticker: German computer game award 2022 now live (update)

DCP ticker: All winners of the German Computer Game Prize 2022 (Image: Quinke Networks)

The German Computer Game Prize 2022 will be awarded today, Thursday. GamesWirtschaft logs the evening in the DCP ticker.

Livestream via YouTube from 7:30 p.m

8:40 p.m.: Game designer Debora Mensah-Bonsu (Games for Good) joins from Great Britain. In the category “Best Serious Game” are nominated:

  • EZRA (Landesverband Kinder- und Jugendfilm Berlin eV)
  • NEPO Missions(Gentle Troll Entertainment / Fraunhofer-Institut IAIS)
  • Songs of Cultures (A.MUSE – Interactive Design Studio)

The Landesverband Kinder- und Jugendfilm Berlin collects the €40,000 check for EZRA.

8:35 p.m.: The topic of “diversity” takes up a lot of space this evening: Brix Schaumburg and Uke Bosse illuminate the status quo – companies like Microsoft and Wooga are allowed to drum up advertising.

8:20 p.m.: Gadget YouTuber Alexander Böhm aka Alexibexi was booked as the laudator for the discipline “Best Innovation and Technology”. Nominated:

  • The case – a race against time (MixUp)
  • VR Skater (Deficit Games)
  • Warpdrive (Holocafe)

€40,000 goes to the virtual reality specialists at Holocafé for Warpdrive.

8:15 p.m.: Kika presenter Jana Forkel presents the “Best Family Game”, which is endowed with €40,000. Nominated:

  • Cat Q – A Quantum Adventure (Kamibox)
  • EVERYTHING (Studio Inkyfox)
  • Witchtastic (Flemming Visual Effects / Application Systems Heidelberg Software)

The prize goes to Jonas Manke from the Bielefeld studio Studio Inkyfox for EVERYTHING.

8:10 p.m.: Xbox marketing manager advertises in conversation with Uke Bosse Maxi Gräff for a higher proportion of women in the games industry.

8:05 p.m.: Wiblu is the “Best Prototype” at the German Computer Game Prize 2022. Peter Bartonik, Christian Walter and Ramona Raabe receive €50,000 – the other four nominees are happy about €25,000 each:

  • Delightfyl (Felicitas Brämer)
  • Makis Adventure (Mateo Covic, Eric Hartmann)
  • Shadows (Tobias Borns, Sebastian Krause, Julia Wolf / Trier University of Applied Sciences)
  • Words (Ahmet Zahit Dönmez / TH Cologne – Cologne Game Lab)

7:55 p.m.: Games developer Kathrin Radtke takes on the laudatory speech for the two young talent awards. Special feature: The nominees also take home considerable prize money. In the category ‘Best Debut’ are nominated:

  • A Juggler’s Tale (Kaleidoscube / Mixtvision media company)
  • Cleo: A Pirate’s Tale (Christoph Schultz)
  • White Shadows (Monokel / Headup Games)

The first prize including a €60,000 check goes to White Shadows – the meanwhile fifth trophy for Headup Games (see overview below). The publisher is now trading under Thunderful Games. The two nominees will each receive €25,000.

7:45 p.m.: Actor Brix Schaumburg is the laudator in the first category of the DCP evening: “Best Live Game”. Nominated: Year 1800 (Ubisoft Mainz), Tropico 6 (Kalypso Media) and Hunt: Showdown (Crytek/Koch Media).

Victory goes to Frankfurt: Crytek takes victory with the online multiplayer shooter Hunt: Showdown. The prize money is €40,000.

7:40 p.m.: Koch Media Manager and Game Board Member Lars Janssen reports on the actions of the video games industry to support the people of Ukraine.

7:33 p.m.: It’s a good start: Corona steals the show from Katrin Bauerfeind. The co-moderator of Uke Bosse has to spend the evening corona-positive in the hotel room – get well soon!

7:15 p.m.: For the seventh time now, GamesWirtschaft is offering the rather unofficial DCP bingo ticket. The rules of the game: There is a short (alternatively a small Fanta) for each event / keyword. Five hits – horizontally, vertically, diagonally – means: “Bingo!”. We wish you a lot of fun – please use the hashtag #dcpbingo, then we will find you the fastest.

The DCP bingo ticket for the year 2022
The DCP bingo ticket for the year 2022

19 o’clock: In exactly 30 minutes, the DCP live stream will start, which among other things on Youtube can track. Unlike in the two previous years, both the laudators and (most of) the nominees will be there in Munich.

The “warm-up” is already underway with a look behind the scenes.

Report from March 31, 2022 (4 p.m.): At 7:30 p.m., Katrin Bauerfeind and Uke Bosse will welcome the invited guests to the Tonhalle in Munich and the viewers of the live stream. Over the course of the evening, €800,000 will be distributed to the winners in a total of 16 categories – the money comes from the budget of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Protection (BMWK).

Bavaria’s Prime Minister Markus Söder (CSU) and BMWK State Secretary were among the laudators Michael Waiter (Bündnis 90 / Die Grünen) announced.

The award will on the official site broadcast – the live reporting starts at 7 p.m. in our DCP ticker. For more information, see these posts:

The serial winners at the German Computer Game Awards since 2009 (as of March 30, 2022)
The serial winners at the German Computer Game Awards since 2009 (as of March 30, 2022)

Leave a Comment