Geneviève Guilbault obtains Transport and Bernard Drainville, Education

With its 90 deputies elected in the ballot of October 3, Mr. Legault was spoiled for choice. And the names of those he has chosen are revealed Thursday at the Blue Room.

Geneviève Guilbault, Deputy Prime Minister, takes over as head of the Ministry of Transport. The MNA for Louis-Hébert thus plays an important role, because in Quebec, the Coalition avenir Québec (CAQ) intends to carry out its third link project. But it will also have to take care of the metropolitan region, with the repair of the Louis-Hippolyte-LaFontaine bridge-tunnel.

Education, one of the largest departments, went to Bernard Drainville, Member of Parliament for Lévis.

Increased responsibilities are entrusted to Pierre Fitzgibbon, who retains the Economy and inherits Energy, with this large piece that is Hydro-Québec. The member for Terrebonne also obtains responsibility for the greater Montreal region.

Public Security, a major issue given the proliferation of incidents involving firearms, is entrusted to François Bonnardel, MP for Granby, who is also responsible for the Estrie region.

Christine Fréchette, a recruit from the CAQ elected in Sanguinet, becomes Minister of Immigration.

Pascale Déry, newly elected in Repentigny, enters higher education.

Kateri Champagne Jourdain, first Indigenous woman elected to the National Assemblybecomes Minister of Employment.

Martine Biron, MNA for Chutes-de-la-Chaudière, becomes responsible for International Affairs and La Francophonie.

Jean-François Roberge, MNA for Chambly, was named Minister responsible for the French Language, Secularism and Canadian Relations.

Mathieu Lacombe, MP for Papineau, becomes Minister of Culture.

Sonia Bélanger, who directed the Integrated University Center of Centre-Sud-de-l’Île-de-Montréal, becomes Minister for Health. The MNA for Prévost succeeds Marguerite Blais at the Ministry of Seniors.

Suzanne Roy, former mayor of Sainte-Julie and ex-president of the Union of Municipalities of Quebec, obtains the ministry of the Family.

Maïté Blanchette Vézina, former mayor of Sainte-Luce, joins the Ministry of Natural Resources and Forests. The member for Rimouski is also responsible for Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine.

France-Hélène Duranceau, MNA for Bertrand, becomes Minister responsible for Housing.

Christopher Skeete is appointed Minister Delegate for the Economy; the member for Sainte-Rose becomes responsible for the fight against racism, in addition to being responsible for Laval.

Jonatan Julien, MP for Charlesbourg, collects the Ministry of Infrastructure and obtains responsibility for the Capitale-Nationale.

Tenors stay in place

Among those who retain their functions is Christian Dubé. The member for La Prairie remains at the head of the Ministry of Health and Social Services, where he has initiated a vast reform.

Eric Girard, MP for Groulx, is maintained in Finance.

Sonia LeBel, MNA for Champlain, retains the presidency of the Treasury Board.

Benoît Charette, MP for Deux-Montagnes, remains in charge of the Ministry of the Environment, at a time when François Legault has expressed his desire to become the first minister of energy transition.

Simon Jolin-Barrette, retains the Ministry of Justice. The Member for Borduas also retains his title of Government House Leader

Andrée Laforest, MNA for Chicoutimi, remains with Municipal Affairs.

Jean Boulet, MNA for Trois-Rivières, remains Minister of Labour, he who previously also had responsibility for Immigration, Social Solidarity and Employment.

Lionel Carmant, MP for Taillon, remains Minister Delegate for Health and Social Services.

Éric Caire, MP for La Peltrie, remains Minister of Cybersecurity and Digital.

More information to come

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.