Here is the new order of succession to the British throne

Here is the order of succession to the British throne after the death of Elizabeth II, which sees her eldest son become the new King Charles III.

• Read also: What is the protocol now that Queen Elizabeth II is no more?

• Read also: 11 defining moments from the reign of Elizabeth II

• Read also: LIVE | Queen Elizabeth II dies at 96

1. The prince William, Duke of Cornwall and Cambridge. Born June 21, 1982, eldest son of Charles.


2. The prince George of Cambridge. Born July 22, 2013, eldest son of Prince William.


3. The princess charlotte of Cambridge. Born May 2, 2015, daughter of Prince William.


4. The prince Louis of Cambridge. Born April 23, 2018, second son of Prince William.


5. The prince Harry, Duke of Sussex. Born September 15, 1984, second son of Prince Charles.


6. Archie Mountbatten-Windsor. Born May 6, 2019, eldest son of Prince Harry.

7. Lilibet Mountbatten-Windsor. Born June 4, 2021, daughter of Prince Harry.

8. The prince Andrew, Duke of York. Born February 19, 1960, second son of Queen Elizabeth.



9. The princess beatrice of York. Born August 8, 1988, eldest daughter of Prince Andrew.


10. Sienna Elizabeth Mapelli Mozzi. Born September 18, 2021, daughter of Princess Beatrice.

11. The princess eugenie of York. Born March 23, 1990, second daughter of Prince Andrew.


12. August Brooksbank. Born February 9, 2021, son of Eugenie.

13. The prince Edward, Earl of Essex. Born March 10, 1964, third son of Queen Elizabeth.


14. James Mountbatten-Windsor, Viscount Severn. Born December 17, 2007, son of Prince Edward.

15. Lady Louise Mountbatten-Windsor. Born November 8, 2003, daughter of Prince Edward.

16. The princess anne, Princess Royal. Born August 15, 1950, daughter of Queen Elizabeth.


17. Peter Phillips. Born November 15, 1977, son of Princess Anne.

18. Savannah Phillips. Born December 29, 2010, eldest daughter of Peter Phillips

19. Isla Phillips. Born March 29, 2012, second daughter of Peter Phillips

20. Zara Tindall. Born May 15, 1981, daughter of Princess Anne.

21. Mia Tindall. Born January 17, 2014, eldest daughter of Zara Tindall

22. Lena Tindallborn June 18, 2018, second daughter of Zara Tindall.

23. Lucas Tindall. Born March 21, 2021, son of Zara Tindall.

The descendants of Queen Elizabeth are followed by those of her only sister, deceased, Margaret.

The descendants of the siblings of their father, King George VI, come next.

More than 70 living people are descended from the latter’s father, King George V, who died in 1936.

Only descendants of Sophia of Hanover (1630-1714) can inherit the throne, according to the Act of Settlement of 1701.

Catholics are excluded, the monarch is the supreme governor of the Church of England, established by King Henry VIII in 1534.

However, those married to Catholics are no longer excluded.

And according to a law modifying the order of succession, which came into force in 2015, boys born after October 28, 2011 no longer take precedence over their elder sister(s).

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.